Review: The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud

The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud

Author: Julia Navarro
Release Date: February 2005 (originally 2004)
Publisher: Gótica
Pages: 546 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Conspiracy | Church | Historical
Series: —
Idiom: Portuguese
Read: from August 20 to 28, 2011
Source & Shelf: Burrowed
ISBN: 9780440243021 (English)
               9789727921396 (Portuguese)

 

 

Synopsis:

The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud is the explosive international bestseller that mixes fact and fiction to tell the riveting story of one of the world’s most controversial relics – the Holy Shroud of Turin – and the desperate race to save it from those who will stop at nothing to possess its legendary power…

A fire at the Turin cathedral and the discovery of a mutilated corpse are the latest in a disturbing series of events surrounding the mysterious cloth millions believe to be the authentic burial shroud of Jesus Christ. Those who dare to investigate will be caught in the cross fire of an ancient conflict forged by mortal sacrifice, assassination, and secret societies tied to the shadowy Knights Templar.

Spanning centuries and continents, from the storm-rent skies over Calvary, through the intrigue and treachery of Byzantium and the Crusades, to the modern-day citadels of Istanbul, New York, London, Paris, and Rome, The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud races to a chilling climax in the labyrinths beneath Turin, where astounding truths will be exposed: about the history of a faith, the passions of man, and proof of the most powerful miracle of all…

My Mini Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers!*

Now, this was a slow, slightly boring reading for me. My mother told me to read this book since it was about conspiracy and church and all of that. She also told me it was sort of like Dan Brown so I picked it up and started reading. 

I found myself struggling with this book, the flashbacks being so boring and hard to read for me. Only when the Knights Templar appeared and the story began to make sense, did the flashbacks turned out to be pretty cool. 

There wasn’t real action in it; only reunions between the members and stuff, other characters doing their own research and the “bad guys” point of view. 

Now, this isn’t a real review since I can’t really write the reason why I will never pick up this book again. I did enjoy it though I kept wishing to reach the end as fast as I could and I couldn’t even read it fast. But I have to admit the end surprised… I wasn’t expecting all those characters to die. I guess that was the most exciting part of all.

My Cups:

XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

