Review: The Hunger Games Trilogy

The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins
Release Date: January 10th, 2009 (originally September 14th, 2008)
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 454 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Dystopia | Young Adult | Romance
Series: The Hunger Games #1
Idiom: English
Read: from October 26 to November 7, 2011
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9781407109084 (English)

 

Synopsis:

The Hunger Games takes place in an unidentified future time period after the destruction of North America, in a nation known as Panem. Panem consists of a wealthy Capitol and twelve surrounding, poorer districts. 

As punishment for a previous rebellion against the Capitol, every year, one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 from each district are selected by lottery and forced to participate in the Hunger Games, a televised event in which the participants, or “tributes,” must fight to the death in a dangerous, outdoor arena, controlled by the Capitol, until only one remains. The story follows fatherless 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, a girl from District 12, who volunteers for the 74th Games in place of her younger sister, Primrose.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers!*

I don’t even know where to start with this review… I only know that I 100% loved this since the very beginning to the very last page. Unfortunately, all good things come to an end and The Hunger Games did and now I have to wait for Catching Fire – a deed I’m not sure I’m going to handle. 

Okay, review!

he story is known already throughout the world so there’s no need for me to go around telling it. I have to admit being slightly surprised with the amount of violence in this book, I wasn’t entirely prepared for it but as soon as I recovered from the first death, I began seeing the book with brand new eyes. Truth is; all those deaths are needed for the sake of one winner – in this case two. 

Katniss Everdeen is a very strong and mature character. Not exactly the sort of 16 years old girl who goes around with nothing to do… she actually has to feed her family which made her a great hunter. She was stronger than what I have anticipated but she was also very human, very girly and with a very good heart. What she did with in the middle of the games due to Rue’s death touched me right deep within my heart. That was the most beautiful thing I’ve read.

Peeta Mellark is my favourite character since I kind of relate myself to him in a way I can’t quite explain. The fact that he was in the Careers side to protect Katniss and all he did, really proved the reader he was not kidding when he said he was in love with her. Actually, since the moment Katniss told us her story of how Peeta gave her the bread, I immediately liked him. 

Not going to write about every single character but I have to say that Rue was an amazing character as well. So young and so full of life, I cried when she was pierced by the spear and died in Katniss arms. It really showed us, readers, the cruelty of the Hunger Games and how the Capitol can destroy something so fragile and so small, creating a huge hole inside us. 

The Capitol and the Gamemakers were the things I hated the most – not to mention Cato but in the end I kind of felt sorry for him (the way he died was a little bit too… brute! Though I disliked him, I was excepting a quick death… but the pure torture he’d been through with the mutts). Panem is divided and instead of trying to reconstruct a new world, a new society, something that would help those in need, they had the Games, a very gruesome way to make their point. 

The writing style of Suzanne Collins was extremely easy to read. I felt like I was in front of Katniss and she was relating her story to me, not through a book. It was addictive since page one with her story unfolding very slowing before us. I only wished I had the chance to know Gale a little bit better. Well, perhaps I will in book two Catching Fire.

So far, The Hunger Games has become one of my favourite books from my 2011 challenge… a completely different genre to what I’m used to but a delightful (even if cruel and raw) reading. 

Welcome to the future, fellow readers!

My Cups:

 

 

 

Catching Fire

Author: Suzanne Collins
Release Date: September 1st, 2009 
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 472 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Dystopia | Young Adult | Romance
Series: The Hunger Games #2
Idiom: English
Read: from November 25 to December 8, 2011
Source & Shelf: Purchased | Own
ISBN: 9781407109367 (English)

 

 

Synopsis:

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Suzanne Collins continues the amazing story of Katniss Everdeen in Catching Fire, the second novel of the phenomenal Hunger Games trilogy.

My Mini Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers!*

Let me just start by saying this book is rated 4.5/5. I was going to give it 5 stars but then I began thinking about it and thought it would be fair to give 4.5.

So, Suzanne Collins did it again: she managed to make me read this book even though I’m studying for my exams and have mountains of work to do for University. Nevertheless, it felt so good to go to bed and read it and be able to forget all stress for a couple of hours.

The first half of the book was a little bit boring, not boring in a boredom way but I was missing the action from the arena. The tour that Katniss and Peeta did throughout the district was enlightening but at the same time, there were moments I wished they would go back to the arena. I felt Katniss going down, felt her weaker than in The Hunger Games but the moment she entered the arena for the second time, I’ve felt her going back to her normal state, the one we read in the first book.

Well, I guess that was the reason I only gave this book 4.5 stars. Only after the Quarter Quell was announced, did I truly enjoyed this book and couldn’t put it down.

If you enjoyed The Hunger Games, you’re going to enjoy this one as well.

My Cups:

Mockingjay

Author: Suzanne Collins
Release Date: August 25th, 2010 (originally August 24th, 2010)
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 455 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Dystopia | Young Adult | Romance
Series: The Hunger Games #3
Idiom: English
Read: from December 8 to 28, 2011
Source & Shelf: Purchased | Own
ISBN: 9780439023511 (English)

 

 

Synopsis:

Young Katniss Everdeen has survived the dreaded Hunger Games not once, but twice, but even now she can find no relief. In fact, the dangers seem to be escalating: President Snow has declared an all-out war on Katniss, her family, her friends, and all the oppressed people of District 12. The thrill-packed final installment of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy will keep young hearts pounding.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers!*

So, The Hunger Games is over and I don’t quiet understand the reasons why so many people disliked Mockingjay. Sure it’s not Suzanne Collins best book from the trilogy, but for me it was quite an enjoyable adventure – even if a bit time-consuming at times.

In this book I felt that Katniss was a bit, how to put it, perhaps a bit obsessed with the idea of killing Snow. Plus the fact that she spends most of her time in the hospital than ever. It seems as if she’s always wounded. Despite that, I believe some of her fears were real and it gave a sense of reality to her character. Some of her worries crawled under my skin, especially those concerning Peeta, at least.

I have to admit that, even though she’s the main character, Katniss is not my favourite character in the trilogy. Actually, she’s like the 4th character I like in the series.

Peeta… poor Peeta! He has been through hell in this book. I was upset with Collins when I began reading what happened to him in the Capitol and all. I don’t think he deserved it and, regardless of being brave and there for Katniss, it seems like he’s always being rescued and treated, almost like a child. But when he begins to fight off the illusions against Katniss created by the Capitol, I admired his bravery.

I can’t believe Suzanne Collins killed Finnick… and, most, most shocking for me, Prim. I was excepting some deaths and all, but never Prim. Not to mention Cinna, a character I really adored. 

When I read Finnick’s death I couldn’t stop thinking of how cruel it was… needed maybe, but still nasty.

But Prim… that was the most evil, most terrible, the worst for me ‘cause it came as unexpected and the doubts that Katniss had that followed Prim’s death, made it all even harder to bear.

I was waiting for Katniss to, finally, kill Snow when she decided to shoot Coin instead. I was pleased with her final decision since I’ve hated Coin since the beginning. Somehow I never trusted her. 

Overall, I enjoyed this book, perhaps not as much as the first one, but still a nice read to end the saga – despite all the deaths and some things I don’t agree with.

And, as Team Peeta, of course I was satisfied with the end. However, let me just tell you a small secret: regardless of being Team Peeta, there were moments when I wished Katniss to choose Gale instead.

My Cups:

XX Ner

5 thoughts on “Review: The Hunger Games Trilogy

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

