Review: A Discovery of Witches

A Discovery of Witches

Author: Deborah Harkness
Release Date: September 1st, 2011
Publisher: Headline
Pages: 690 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Romance | Paranormal | Urban Fantasy
Series: All Souls Trilogy #1
Idiom: English
Read: from October 16 to 26, 2011
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9780755374045 (Paperback)

 

 


Synopsis
:

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell. 

Debut novelist Deborah Harkness has crafted a mesmerizing and addictive read, equal parts history and magic, romance and suspense. Diana is a bold heroine who meets her equal in vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, and gradually warms up to him as their alliance deepens into an intimacy that violates age-old taboos. This smart, sophisticated story harks back to the novels of Anne Rice, but it is as contemporary and sensual as the Twilight series-with an extra serving of historical realism.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers*

This was one of the most amazing books I’ve read in 2011. Despite being a little bit tired of vampires and all, Deborah Harkness managed to give us a fantastic book with a beautiful love story between a vampire and a witch.

The book was easy to read despite its length. As soon as you start it, it’s almost impossible to stop and we find ourselves already connected to the characters and wanting to know more about them. As the plot unfolds before us, we are soon draw to the amazing world Harkness created and it’s not easy to let it go.

Diana Bishop was, in my opinion, a weak character at the beginning but I admit changing my opinion as I kept reading the book. At the end of the last chapter, I’ve seen that she was indeed a strong woman with a very determined mind. I would freak out with the amount of things that she’s been through but she kept her head held high and didn’t stop fighting.

As for Matthew Clairmont, well, he’s my favourite character since I’ve always had a thing for the male main character. He’s a vampire (making me wishing, again, for my own) but with a strong and great heart. One of the things I’ve appreciated while reading this was that he was already in love with her before she realised that she too was in love.

This story made my skin crawl with anxiety and anticipation. And when that happens to me, it means that I’m really into the story and that I’m loving it. If I feel what the character is feeling and have a strange coldness on my stomach, you can be sure that the author became one of my favourites.

Now, all I can ask for desperately is for book two. 2012 is too far away now.

PS: You can also go to 1,2,3 Casting! (#2) post to see the actors/actresses I would cast if this book was turned into a movie or TV-series.

My Cups:

XX Ner

5 thoughts on “Review: A Discovery of Witches

  1. Mana, adorei o teu vídeo!!! Fico à espera do próximo…. adoro o teu "british english"!!! E estou a gostar cada vez mais dos teus blogs!!! Bj da mana que te adora… Inês.

  2. @MissKimberlyStardust:Thank you so much for following and for the lovely comment 😉 I've already sneaked your blog and you have a new follower as well ^_^It's a bit hard to get into the story at first, but then things begin to get pretty excited when strange things and people begin to appear and Diana turns out to be in the middle of something bigger than what we (and she) expected.Thank you again 😀

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

