Review: Little Women

Little Women [Part I]

Author: Louisa May Alcott
Release Date: 1994 (originally 1868) Publisher: Penguin Popular Classics Pages: 217 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Classic | Romance | Novel
Series: Little Women #1
Idiom: English
Read: from May 18 to June 8, 2012
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9780140621198 (Paperback)

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Little Women is the delightful story of the four March girls and their approach towards womanhood.

Meg, the eldest and most beautiful, shrugs off her vanity and social ambition, discovering fulfillment in romantic love.

Boyish Jo on the other hand, with her contempt of all “lovering”, turns impetuously towards writing for solace.

Gentle Beth rejects worldly interests, preferring to devote her life to her family, to the joy of music and to timidly aiding all who suffer in life.

Amy, the youngest and most imperfect of the March girls, continually tries to overcome her selfishness and girlish pretensions, though he has a hard task before her.

The progress of these four “little women” is narrated along the lines of Bunyan’s pilgrim, and we are shown how – encountering struggles and learning important lessons along the way – each one attains her own Celestial City.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers!*

This book has been on my wishlist for quite some time now. I clearly remember watching the movie for the first time with my sister and my mother and loving it dearly. So, I’ve added it on my wishlist and bought it just after Christmas, when I re-watched the movie for the I-don’t-know-th time. 

The story is slightly slow paced at times, but the way Louisa May Alcott wrote the book made it easy for us to get into the story and be part of the March family. It stars during Christmas night and ends at Christmas one year later. During that time you get the chance to know the four sisters (Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy) better and they are truly different from each other. I was mesmerised with how much I could relate with a particular part from each sister. But what I loved the most was their caring for each other. It brought some tears while I was reading ‘cause having a sister who I love exceedingly, I couldn’t help but feeling I would do the same for her.

When Jo was scared because Amy fell into the cold water by the lake, I cried. I could feel her pain and fright while she spoke with Marmee about being mad at Amy – who burnt all her books with her stories, her treasure – but the moment she saw her falling, she couldn’t move with the shock of being guilty. 

And when Jo (I think Jo is the character I can relate myself with a lot) was angry because Mr. Brooke was in love with Meg, I laughed because I remember being angry with my brother-in-law for “stealing” my sister. But I love him as a brother and seeing my sister happy is more important than my own misery (something Jo understood as well).

Beth is, for me, the most adorable character of all. She has this absent-minded but down-to-earth attitude which makes her special. When she was ill, I couldn’t help but praying for her to survive (I already knew she would but still). The shy, innocent and small Beth is the connector between each character, neighbours, and friends. 

I was shocked when a friend of ours said she hated the movie claiming it was boring. After talking to my sister, we’ve realized that, perhaps, the reason why she hated it is because she doesn’t have any sisters. Anyone who has a sister(or sisters) and a good relationship with them, will (I believe) recognise some feelings.

This is a small review ‘cause I still have Good Wives to read and I cannot wait to meet the Professor.

My Cups:

XX Ner

5 thoughts on “Review: Little Women

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

