Review: Chocolat

Chocolat

Author: Joanne Harris
Release Date: 2000 (originally 1998)
Publisher: Edições ASA
Pages: 264 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Romance | Magical Realism | Contemporary
Series: Chocolat #1
Idiom: Portuguese
Read: from June 27 to July 7, 2012
Source & Shelf: Borrowed
ISBN: 9780141000183 (English)
               9789724120607 (Portuguese)

 

Synopsis:

Illuminating Peter Mayle’s South of France with a touch of Laura Esquivel’s magic realism, Chocolat is a timeless novel of a straitlaced village’s awakening to joy and sensuality. In tiny Lansquenet, where nothing much has changed in a hundred years, beautiful newcomer Vianne Rocher and her exquisite chocolate shop arrive and instantly begin to play havoc with Lenten vows.

Each box of luscious bonbons comes with a free gift: Vianne’s uncanny perception of its buyer’s private discontents and a clever, caring cure for them. Is she a witch? Soon the parish no longer cares, as it abandons itself to temptation, happiness, and a dramatic face-off between Easter solemnity and the pagan gaiety of a chocolate festival. Chocolat’s every page offers a description of chocolate to melt in the mouths of chocoholics, francophiles, armchair gourmets, cookbook readers, and lovers of passion everywhere. It’s a must for anyone who craves an escapist read, and is a bewitching gift for any holiday.

My Opinion:

This book had one thing that surprised me… it made me hungry for chocolate! I found myself reading this and eating Nutella at the same time. Pathetic I know!!

Anyway, this book wasn’t as good as I’ve expected but neither was it bad. It was an enjoyable read and I still want to continue the series.

The main plot wasn’t as developed as I hoped, being some chapters – specially the priest ones – slightly slow and dull. I wished I had more action when it came to “magic” instead of Vianne thinking about her past – sometimes she would just repeat herself – but I understood her reasons.

The beginning was sluggish for me… I felt like I was reading something which had not started and only when the gypsies arrived at the village, did I became more interested – I blame Johnny Depp for that.

Well… I don’t really know what to say about this book apart from the fact that now I want to open a chocolaterie so I’ll be able to have chocolate all around me – I highly recommend you to buy a book of chocolate before starting this book… you’re going to need it, trust me!

My Cups:

XX Ner

One thought on “Review: Chocolat

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

