Review: Obernewtyn

Obernewtyn

Author: Isobelle Carmody
Release Date: December 9th, 2008 (originally 1983)
Publisher: Random House Children’s’ Books
Pages: 245 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Young Adult | Dystopian | Fantasy
Series: The Obernewtyn Chronicles #1
Idiom: English
Read: from September 1 to 8, 2012
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9780375857676

 


Synopsis
:

In a world struggling back from the brink of apocalypse, life is harsh. And for Elspeth Gordie, it is also dangerous. That’s because Elspeth has a secret: she is a Misfit, born with mysterious mental abilities that she must keep hidden under threat of death.

And her worries only multiply when she is exiled to the mountain compound known as Obernewtyn, where – for all her talents – Elspeth may finally and truly be out of her depth. Then she learns she’s not the only one concealing secrets at Obernewtyn.

My Opinion:

I am not going to say much about this book since I’ve been in a roller-coaster this last week and did’t paid as much attention as I would like to this book. I believe I will need to re-read it in order to fully understand those titbits that might have escaped my attention. But, for what I was able to conceived, here it goes my opinion.

I found Obernewtyn not as amazing as I’ve pictured it. It was, indeed, an entertaining reading and it did have me craving for the second volume at the end. But that was it, it was good, not extremely amazing.

Since this week I wasn’t at my fullest, the reading became slower than usual and since the first half of the book didn’t bring anything excited, I would fall asleep. But, as soon as the action begins to develop and strange things begin to take shape, it turned into a very interesting story and I was caught in the web of intrigues.

Elspeth Gordie is a born Misfit, a person with mental abilities. I found her abilities little explored but then again, she’s still young and learning, having spent most of her time trying to hide it. I liked her connection with Maruman though I wished the cat appeared more the book. I like cats. Her character developed slowly, for me painfully slowly. But as I said above, since I was in a hard week, I might have found her character just plain because I wasn’t truly focused. Though she seemed more human than other characters I’ve encountered.

Rushton was a character I wish to get to know better. He was so mysterious in the beginning, so close to himself I really didn’t know what to think of him. His actions toward Elspeth were strange, without notion and there is still something to know about him and his past. His character was the reason I kept reading the book… I needed to know him and what his role was in Obernewtyn.

The story was, despite my troubled mind, easy to follow. The Great White destroyed half of the population and it had some repercussion afterwards. It’s like the world as we know has been erased and we started living in the Medieval times. There are books and some objects from the past but they are considered to be tainting and evil. The Great White had affected the soil and people, turning them into Misfits and if a person who isn’t a born Misfit might turned into one by just touching a rock. They burn those who have strange abilities and those who seek the truth about the Beforetime. 

It’s a good story which makes you want to read more. The fact that Isobelle Carmody took 20 years to published the continuation of the Obernewtyn is something that makes me gasping at the screen. How did her fans survived all this time? I wouldn’t survive if it were me. However, I’m glad to be part of the new generation of fans who is looking forward for the continuation. I hope The Farseekers will tell me more about Rushton and Elspeth ’cause I think they look rather cute together.

My Cups:

XX Ner

3 thoughts on “Review: Obernewtyn

  1. @Inês: Como te entendo… a semana que passou foi impossível mas eu depois conto-te tudo. A minha sorte é que o livro que estou a ler agora é super interessante e puxa-me de tal maneira que nem dou pelas horas passarem (quando julgo passarem 2h são, na verdade, 4h :P)

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

