Review: The Blue Door

The Blue Door

Author: Christa Kinde
Release Date: September 25th, 2012
Publisher: Zinderkidz
Pages: 271 (Hardcover) | 208 (ebook)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 Christian | Angels | Children
Series: The Threshold #1
Idiom: English
Read: from September 12 to 14, 2012
Source & Shelf: NetGalley | Kobo
ISBN: 9780310724193 (Hardcover)
               9780310724889 (ebook)

 


Synopsis
:

The Blue Door, the first book in The Threshold Series, introduces Prissie Pomeroy, a teen who discovers she can see what others cannot: angels all around. Even more startling is the surprising secret she uncovers about people she thought she knew. As she wrestles with this unexpected ability she must come to grips with the spiritual battles surrounding her. Especially when she learns she received this gift because God has a unique role for her in his bigger plan. But if she’s to fulfil it, she’ll need faith like never before.

This exciting debut by author Christa Kinde draws on the rapidly growing interest in angel stories, an emerging trend in teen and preteen supernatural novels. Boys and girls alike will appreciate her gifted storytelling that captures their imagination with things beyond human sight. And parents will appreciate the family-friendly tone and godly messages maintained throughout this intriguing tale of adventure and spiritual warfare.

My Mini Opinion:

Disclaimer: I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Oh my… you all know it’s really rare for me to give only one cup to a book. I only do that to Virginia Woolf’s books. But The Blue Door unfortunately is one of those books I didn’t manage to even reach the end.

The plot sounded interesting; perhaps a bit childish but, nevertheless, interesting. I don’t normally read books with angels but I’ve decided to give this one a try since Netgalley accepted my request.

As soon as the book began, I should have stopped and pushed it aside but I kept trying to be interested in the Christian tale of a fourteen years-old girl who sees angels.  She sees this young boy with strange clothes and pointy ears and decided to introduce herself. Let’s just say that she is immediately told that angels exist and they are God’s messengers and stuff… all too Christian for me. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have anything against it but it just sounded too much for me. I struggled and not even Prissie’s aunt being in Portugal helped me focus.

For course it pains me not being able to finish the book but the story was making me head ache. I just couldn’t read it any longer. I might give it a try in the future, but for now this book was the worst I’ve read so far.

My Cups:

XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

