Review: Hex Hall

Hex Hall

Author: Rachel Hawkins
Release Date: February 1st, 2011 (originally January 1st, 2010)
Publisher: Hyperion
Pages: 323 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Young Adult | Urban Fantasy | Magic
Series: Hex Hall #1
Idiom: English
Read: from September 22 to 24, 2012
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9781423121398

 


Synopsis
:

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father – an elusive European warlock – only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new room-mate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect. As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, “especially” her.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers*

This book… I like it…. ANOTHER!!!!

Hex Hall was such an amazingly fantastic reading I’m literally desperate to get the sequel. And when I say literally desperate, I truly mean it.

Sophie Mercer is a witch… a love spell she did to help a friend got her into Hecate Hall, a secret school for people like her; supernatural beings from witches to shapeshifters and vampires.

She is freaking awesome. Since the prologue to the very end Sophie is funny, sarcastic, smart and the sort of girl everyone would like to be. Her personality was the best thing about her. She’s not the typical damsel in distress sort of type who can’t defend herself. On the contrary, she always has a reply ready if you mess up with her.

The story was easy to follow with some surprises showing up as the plot evolves. For instance, the “ghost” she keeps seeing, I thought it was Holly but it turns out to be her great-grandmother. I didn’t even thought about that until she meets her. And I would never thought it was Alice the killer behind all those attacks. Actually, I had thought about Archer or even Elodie hiding something but Alice… nope, it never crossed my mind.

Archer was difficult for me to like straight away. A guy who steals ladies hearts at first sight are normally the sort of guy I want to slap in the face. And finding out he’s an Eye made me gasp. Again, I didn’t saw that once coming.

Jenna was the first suspect in all those attacks. It was clever of Rachel Hawkins in creating this drama around her. There was a moment I had my doubts towards Sophie’s certainty that Jenna was innocent. But their friendship was so pure and so true I slapped myself and trusted Sophie’s judgement – not that it meant she was right (Archer?! Yap, definitely not right at times).

I wished there was more of Cal, the groundkeeper. I enjoyed the fact that Sophie compared him to Hagrid. Actually, when they introduced him I thought the exactly same thing. But a sexier, not hairy nor giant, Hagrid. 

I can admit that, the a brief sneak peek my edition had of the second book, I might be Team Cal. 

(yap, you can already see my Team Cal stamp on the blog… think I’m gonna stick with that!!)

 

This book ends up with Sophie finding out she’s not actually a witch but a demon. I definitely did not see that one coming either. When she realised it, I was literally in shock. Again, Hawkins wrote a very clever plot which makes us not knowing what’s right or wrong, what’s concrete and what’s not. You feel just like Sophie in the entire book and when you find out things, your reaction is the same as hers.

So, my reaction to all those surprises was pretty much like this:

Now, I’m definitely buying the sequel as soon as possible… this is so worth any wait. 

I highly recommend this book to everyone who likes strong female main characters, a good and funny plot with magic and witches involved.

And, keep an eye out ’cause there’s might be a giveaway coming with this book as one of its prizes *wink wink*

My Cups:

XX Ner

8 thoughts on “Review: Hex Hall

  1. Esse também foi um dos livros que mais gostei de ler desde sempre! E muito devido à Sophie!Bem… eu sou Team Archer 😛 Não consigo evitar… xD Mas se gostas tanto do Cal, acho que vais gostar do segundo livro ;D ele tem mais destaque. eheh!E lá estou eu outra vez a desesperar para ler o terceiro… Parece que ultimamente as minhas leituras andam sempre interrompidas, mas pronto.. xDD

  2. @Marina: Não deu para conhecer bem o Cal no Hex Hall mas o pouco que consegui "ver" dele, ele parece-me o meu tipo de gajo :PLOOOL… entendo-te bem. Começei tantas sagas e tenho que esperar pela continuação… ou porque ainda não comprei o livro, ou porque ainda não saiu 🙂

  3. A mim o que mais me chateia é demorarem tanto tempo a traduzir os livros. Bem sei que deve ser um trabalho dificílimo, mas eu não consigo esperar… xDD Tenho de ler logo!

  4. @Marina: Pois, eu tenho a vantagem de os ler em Inglês nas o Spellbound ainda não saiu em paperback na minha edição logo, tou na mesma situação que tu. It sucks :S@Inês: MANA… saudades dos teus comentários :)Sinceramente, nem sei bem qual é o meu tipo mas gosto dos misteriosos ;-)XX Ner

  5. Fiquei muito feliz com o teu comentário para mim!!! Eu não tenho tido assunto para comentar, mas sigo os teus blogs diariamente e os das tuas colegas também! Bj. Inês.

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

