Review: The Iron King

The Iron King

Author: Julie Kagawa
Release Date: February 1st, 2010
Publisher: Harlequin Teens
Pages: 363 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Young Adult | Fantasy | Romance
Series: The Iron Fey #1
Idiom: English
Read: from October 5 to 10, 2012
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9780373210084

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers*

This book was something out of the ordinary. I wasn’t expecting this at all.

Well, first of all, this book started rather quickly for me. I found myself struggling to keep up with what was happening. On the other hand, as soon as Meghan and Puck reached the Faery Kingdom and I managed to keep up the ace with them, it all began to make more sense and feel less rushed.

Meghan was an amazing character to read. Though I felt she was much older than her newly tuned sixteen, I enjoyed reading her development and her cravings for the future. I utterly felt that she was wiser than her age and mature enough. I guess that’s the perks of being half-fairy half-human.

Her relation with Puck/Robbie was really sweet. You could see the care both had for each other and the strong need of protectiveness Puck had towards her. Despite the obvious attraction, their friendship was indeed cute – especially when Puck is gravely wounded and Meghan asks the dryad’s to save him.

As for Ash… well, even though the romance in this book is in short supply, I really liked the way they turned from sworn enemy to allies and then to something more romantic. And, as a person who realised and stamped herself as Team Ash, I guess there’s not much to say concerning this subject.

I had a feeling that this story (my humble opinion, of course) was some sort of awareness to the damage technology is having, or could have, in our lives and world. The Iron Kingdom resembled a dump and I was praying for the end of it. I basically prayed for Meghan and Ash to kill Machina and end his reign and restore nature beauty to the kingdom. Having machines feeling and dreaming just like us, humans, sounds rather terrifying.

I won’t be mumbling about this book anymore… this book had me reading it on my British History classes so you can see how desperate I was to finish it. Regardless of the initial struggle, this was such a fantastic book and such a magical story where fey and romance and trust battle against machines I need volume two right now.

My Cups:

XX Ner

5 thoughts on “Review: The Iron King

  1. I’ve read this book more than a year ago, and your review reminded me how much I liked it. I was a total stranger to anything about fairies before, and the Summer and Winter Court (I saw this in a few other books and I still don’t get this quite right, I feel like I’m missing here on some fairytale that I was supposed to read as a child?)
    I really need to continue this series soon! I’m so annoyed by myself not reading sequels straight away 🙂 Great review!

    • I find myself sometimes lost with the whole Winter and Summer Court… but the second book explains it a little bit. But I have to warn you that, if you haven’t read The Iron Daughter yet, Meghan’s going to be a pain in the a** – sorry about the spoiler 😛

      I need to continue as well since I only read two books and the new series sounds pretty amazing. Hopefully we’ll get to read it soon 😉

      Thank you very much for commenting ^_^

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

