Review: Fifty Shades Darker & Fifty Shades Freed

Fifty Shades Darker

Author: E.L. James
Release Date: September 15th, 2011 
Publisher: Vintage
Pages: 532 (Paperback) | 452 (ebook)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 Romance | Erotic | Adult
Series: Fifty Shades #2
Idiom: English
Read: from November 1 to 2, 2012
Source & Shelf: Gift | Kobo
ISBN: 9781612130583 (Paperback)
               9781612130590 (ebook)

 


Synopsis
:

Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

Fifty Shades Freed

Author: E.L. James
Release Date: January 29th 2012 (originally January 1st, 2012)
Publisher: Vintage
Pages: 551 (Paperback) | 423 (ebook)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 Erotic | Romance | Adult
Series: Fifty Shades #3
Idiom: English
Read: from November 2 to 6, 2012
Source & Shelf: Gift | Kobo
ISBN: 9781612130606 (Paperback)
               9781512130613 (ebook)

 

Synopsis:

When unworldly student Anastasia Steele first encountered the driven and dazzling young entrepreneur Christian Grey it sparked a sensual affair that changed both of their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and, ultimately, repelled by Christian’s singular erotic tastes, Ana demands a deeper commitment. Determined to keep her, Christian agrees.

Now, Ana and Christian have it all – love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. And Christian must overcome his compulsion to control as he wrestles with the demons of a tormented past.

Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to make Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers, a lot of gifs and it’s rated NC-17*

I’ve finished the famous trilogy of Fifty Shades… and again, I’m still alive and sane. 

Though I keep telling people that, after reading this trilogy, nothing will ever shock me… ever!!!!

To be honest, I don’t know what the fuzz is all about but I do admit having thoroughly enjoyed this series. I mean, I read it in a week. I’ve read the second one in two nights. Yah, you can say I was really enjoying it.

So, today my review will be two in one since I’ll be reviewing Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed together. I just couldn’t stop to write the review of the first before even starting the latter.

With the cliffhanger left at the end of Fifty Shades of Grey, I needed to know whether Anastasia Steele was dumb enough to return to the bossy Christian“Freaking Me Out” Grey in the second volume. My hopes were crashed when, at the first opportunity, she returned to him. 

I mean… really?! Are you mental?! After all you’ve seen and after what he did to you (even if you were also responsible for that to happen) you still return to him?! 

Okay, I left it pass and kept reading the story ’cause, in my mind, Mr. Grey was still like this and like this. How can a girl refuse to be with a guy like that????

*blushes, runs and hides in dark hole*

Christian changed a little in the second book but he still got on my nerves; still bossy, still a control freak, stalker and manipulative. However, finding out a little bit of his past helped me see him in another perspective. But still, if it were me, I would still kick him hard in the private parts.

Ana grew slightly though she still made me cringe of how nymphomaniac she is; both of them, really. I think she became more mature in this book, despite her young age (she’s one year younger than me!!! Oh, the shock!!!!). And she had such a stomach to deal with all of it; with his past, his way of life, his secret! That’s tiring!

And, by the way, does Christian have a vending machine of endless condoms in his pocket?

He sure looks like that ‘cause, in every five pages, they were having sex and he would have a condom in his pocket at the ready. Always so prepared Mr. Grey!

And, I have to say it ‘cause I really liked that bit; Christian the submisse. Who would have thought of that? I find that scene so caring… it was his way to tell Ana he loved her. I would still kick him!!! Oh yes, it’s my life mission: to kick Christian Grey!!!

Anyway, I admit that I liked the second book better than the others two. The crazy ex-sub, Leila, made Ana think better about her relationship with Christian and Mrs. Robinson was just annoying. I hated her!!! I’m with Ana when it concerns Mrs. Robinson and I completely understand her feelings towards her. Bastard!!!

The writing was still too sloppy and very repetitive at times. There were a couple of things that made me laugh and others that made me roll my eyes. The swearing was all over the place but still, we all say some swears during our days, right? I’m not the only one finding it all ordinary, right?

The sex scenes, specially the lift one with all those people there in a small space, were sooooo… okay, still… tooooooo… 

… awkward, uncomfortable, embarrassing, shocking!!!!

If I thought there would be less sex scenes in this book, I was mistaken. There were more and they were even more embarrassing. I skipped some… I was so shocked with what was happening I couldn’t even read them properly. 

In Fifty Shades Freed, which cover I prefer this one:

… we have the happy couple married, enjoying their honeymoon in Europe and still more weird sex scenes. And now I understand the handcuffs in the cover. But I still prefer the key… it’s more liberating as if Christian finally opened up for good and revealed it all – which he did! 

I was expecting Ana to arrived home and find she was pregnant and stuff but no. They had a lovely honeymoon – which is now my dream of my own honeymoon but without all those sex weird moments – and then they were back home with all the drama. Hyde, Ana’s previous boss was after the Grey’s and he was a true dangerous to them all. 

Ana finds she’s pregnant near the end of the book and Christian’s reaction had me on my nerves. I wanted to slap him, kick him in the parts even harder than above, spank him and break every single bone in his perfect body. 

Yah, Kick-ass!!!!! Take it Mr. Grey for being such a pain in the ass!!!!

Not even Hyde had me on my nerves during the book and he was the “bad guy” in the picture.

However, he changed so much since book one I sometimes wondered if he was the good twin brother. He was more caring, more loveable and more patient; still a stalker and a bossy, but slightly better. I liked him better in this book than I did in the others – apart from his reaction to Blip.

The continuation was still too much like Twilight. When Leila first came up I thought “here’s our Victoria!” and when Hyde became the bad guy and went after Mia, Christian’s sister, I was like “and here’s our James!”. When she slipped under the bodyguard gaze to find Hyde in the third book, I felt some kind of déjà vu when Bella leaves Alice and Jasper to find James. Yah, the bone structure is basically the same with two small details different: there’s no vampires and werewolves in this saga and there’s plenty of sex also. 

God, I’m trying to write a coherent review and find myself struggling with words. How to tell you why I’ve enjoyed this series? To be honest, I don’t know. I did, full stop. It wasn’t bad, neither was it good. It was entertaining and had me wanting to read it non-stop. That’s got to mean something, right?

Sorry… couldn’t resist him!
*blushes*

My Cups for Fifty Shades Darker:

My Cups for Fifty Shades Freed:

XX Ner

4 thoughts on “Review: Fifty Shades Darker & Fifty Shades Freed

  1. @Inês: Eu tinha curiosidade em saber porquê que estes livros andavam arrasar os tops. Não podia andar por ai a dizer "50 Shades of Grey?! Quem, eu?! A ler isso?! Nunca na vida!" pois não sabia sobre que raio era o livro.Admito ter gostado… não amei mas gostei. E a cena de sexo que te mostrei, é uma das mais "lights" por isso, podes imaginar o livro todo O_o AWKARD!!!!

  2. Pois….. eu não posso dizer que não vou ler, mas nos próximos meses tenho muitos livros na estante que quero ler… e ainda faltam dois livros da Anne Bishop… bj… OBRIGADA POR RESPONDERES!!! Inês.

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

