Review: Darkness Rising

Darkness Rising

Author: Peter Koevari
Release Date: November 15th, 2011 (originally January 1st, 2011)
Publisher: Createspace
Pages: 260 (Paperback)
Format: PDF
Genre:
 Fantasy | Paranormal | Dragons
Series: Legends of Marithia #2
Idiom: English
Read: from October 29th to November 9th, 2012
Source & Shelf: Sent by Author | Kobo
ISBN: 9781467948555 (Paperback)


Synopsis
:

In the aftermath of the Battle of the Elven Woods, the two legends of Marithian prophecy are both dangerously close to the dark grip of death as Marithia suffers under the powers of the Blood Red Moon.

Vartan, prophesied to save Marithia, lays spellbound under the protection of the mythical dragons. The vampire sorceress Kassina, prophesied to bring about their Armageddon has been moved to the underworld by the demon lord himself, Shindar.

A seed of the gods has grown and their greatest gift to Marithians, Anakari, makes her fated journey to discover her purpose.

A former shining jewel of Marithian peace, castle Greenhaven, remains in ruins after its defeat under Kassina’s forces and the elves rebuild their war torn city of Veldrenn.

Talonsphere must be found before Marithia merges with the Underworld and Shindar brings about the world’s end.

My Opinion:

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author, Peter Koevari, himself in exchange for an honest review.

*This review might contain spoilers*

So, after reading and writing my review for Prophecies Awakening, I got the amazing surprised of having Peter sending me a copy of its sequel. If you know me, you’ll guess how my reaction was:

However, I’ve been a terrible reviewer and I apologise to Peter for delaying this book for quite a long time. It wasn’t my intention. But, I have to admit that as soon as I’ve picked it up, it was hard to resist the pull it had on me. It was addictive since the very beginning.

This was an amazing continuation to Prophecies Awakening. I felt it was more coherent, more crafted (so to speak) and it brought us a new dimension to the already known world of Marithia. It flew better, like a piece of a puzzle put together in a more artful way. I absolutely loved this book and I dare say this is my favourite of the two volumes.

In this book we get a deeper perspective of the previous characters. I had mentioned on my previous review that I wished there was more of Helenia and Peter didn’t let me down. He kept his promise when he told me she would appear more. She did; she appeared as a war apprentice and then as a warrior and a wife. But still, there could be much more about her.

The background story of Vartan’s journey to become a knight was a really nice touch. I understand why Peter didn’t told us that bit of his past in book one. 
All background stories that are told in the books are a way for us to get deeper into the character’s personality and emotions. And having small bits of it told throughout the story, not straightforward, creates a connection with them in a profound way that otherwise would not exist. And that happens with Vartan’s past.

Tusdar was such a surprise which I did not see coming. But then again, there were several things in this book I didn’t see coming at all! And Tusdar was the first of several shocks I had while reading this. Having him turned into a vampire was something I had to read twice because I couldn’t believe in what I was reading. And then, when Kassina orders him to kill Aidan to prove his loyalty to Shindar, I was beyond words to the horror. Really, I wasn’t expecting.

Neither was I expecting that discovery at the end of the book which had me gaping for several minutes. Kassina is Karven and Nymiria’s granddaughter?! And she could also be the chosen to fulfil the prophecy?! God, that came out of the blue and I felt like I was falling with that knowledge.

Yes, Kassina still lives and she still scares the hell out of me. But she showed us a different side to her in this book. I felt she was more… innocent. It’s hard to explain but, despite the fact that she still freaked me out at times with her bloodlust, there was also this new feeling of sympathy I couldn’t help but sense for her.

And then, we are presented to a brand new character: Anakari (or just Kari) is a sorceress elf and she was a really good new character to appear in the book. There is something about her, perhaps her aura of mystery and her naivety that makes you want to know more about her origins. And then you find out she has this major role in saving Marithia alongside Vartan just makes you eager to know more about her. Yes, I do confess that Kari became my favourite character of the book. Her relationship with Yuski was a tender surprise even though I felt it was slightly rushed. Both of them were so adorable I wished there were chapters with them journeying through the woods.

If I had enjoyed the first book, this one had me over the moon. Peter promised me that this book would have so much more going on and he kept his promise. There was action, romance, some sex scenes (not too explicit) and new characters. Secrets were told and others were found. Shocks had me breathing hard, sweet moments had me grinning. This book had all I love in a book and a bit more. 

There was only one thing I didn’t like. And what was that you wonder?! The last chapter when I read “to be continued” after this mega cliffhanger.

My reaction exactly Mr. Fox!!!

I wish to thank Peter once again for the opportunity to read and review his books. Again, I was overwhelmed with his request and I’m beyond happy to admit that his books are amazing.

Now, can I just ask you to hurry up with the third volume?!

My Cups:

XX Ner

4 thoughts on “Review: Darkness Rising

  1. Gostei do que escreveste. Estes livros têm umas capas lindas!!! Devem ser muito interessantes! Não conheço este escritor, mas é uma boa opção para a wishlist!! Bj. Inês.

  2. Hi Ner ;)Thanks for the great review and I appreciate your kind words. I would like to extend an invitation for you to join my proofreading team for Legends of Marithia 3, which I have been working on and was going great guns before I was broken into and lost all of my tech!!!Let me know if you are keen ;)Peter Koevariwww.peterkoevari.com

  3. @Peter: You're welcome ;-)I would really enjoy to be part of the team. Never been part of a proofreading team before but I would love to help :POnce again, a MILLION thanks for the invitations and for the previous books :DXX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

