Review: Divergent

Divergent

Authors: Veronica Roth
Release Date: February 28th, 2012 (originally April 28th, 2012)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 487 (Paperback)
Format: Paperback
Genre:
 Young Adult | Dystopian | Fantasy
Series: Divergent #1
Idiom: English
Read: from November 11 to 14, 2013
Source & Shelf: Purchase | Own
ISBN: 9780062024039

 


Synopsis
:

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue – Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is – she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen.

But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.

My Opinion:

*This review might contain spoilers*

OH MY FREAKING GOD!!!

When my friend Carla @O Livro que Deu Um Pum told me I would love Divergent I wasn’t expecting to completely fall madly in love with it. It’s one of the BEST books I’ve ever read!

This books grips you since page one and when you finally find yourself back in reality again you’ve read around 200 pages without even noticing it. That happened to me during the night whilst reading this book. I’ve read 250 pages in two hours – that’s something which has never happened to me.

Divergent is a Dystopia book – yah, can’t you notice how Dystopia is slowly becoming my favourite genre? – which tells the story of Beatrice “Tris” Prior and her battle to keep her true self hidden. Yes, I do think that’s a way to summarise the story. There’s so much going on in the book I can’t go around telling you all about it. It’s a book you MUST read.

Tris starts the book as a person who has to live with the strict rules of Abnegation. She can’t look at herself in the mirror, she can’t talk during dinner, she can’t even think about herself – that’s completely against the ideals of Abnegation. She doesn’t fit in it but, at the same time, there’s a part of her that will always belong to that faction. Well, she might not fit in any faction since she’s a Divergent – she has a little bit of all factions within her. Her character develops in a steady way, learning with her mistakes and feelings. He’s honest and human. I liked her character a lot because she wasn’t that sort of weak character that faints as soon as something terrible happens. No, she sees her parents die before her eyes but keeps fighting. She’s a bloody bad-ass!!!

And now that I’ve read the book, I can say that Shailene Woodley doesn’t seem like a bad choice for the role: 

I can actually picture her as Tris!

Four (or should I call you…) holy smokes!!! 

Four is, perhaps, my all time favourite male character in the world!!! He’s ruthless but caring; he’s a bad-guy but loveable; he’s complicated and I absolutely adore him. He got a troubled past which made him abandon his original faction in favour of Dauntless. At the beginning he’s mysterious and that made me intrigued. I wanted to know more about him, get to the depths of his soul and understand why he looks so trouble. His fears, his ways of dealing with bravery, with Tris, with Eric… God!!! He’s just as human as Tris – perhaps a little bit more in my humble opinion – and the ultimate fascinating hero.

Yes, I’m completely infatuated! I want my own Four!!!

Oh, and by the way: Am I the only one who thinks Colton Haynes is almost perfect for the role of Four?!

Oh yah!! I can clearly see him as Four!

And that scene in the train between Tris and Four – when they go together to the city?! That’s got to be one of the most romantic, adorable, perfect scenes I’ve ever read in my life.

Veronica Roth’s writing was absolutely perfect. Never did the action weaver even with the romance within it. She managed to balance both in a way that wasn’t cringing. Everything was so real; the emotions, the action, the setting, the characters. She manages to make you grab the book and never stop reading. Each page brought something new to you and you would just lose yourself within the story ‘cause you would be desperate to see what was going to happen.

I admit, when Four was injected with the serum and brain-washed by it, I almost had a stroke. I forced myself to stop reading the book in order to clear my thoughts and my mind before continuing. That’s how good the story was… it crawls beneath your skin. 

Here’s the comment I left Carla when I read that scene:

“You could have warned me I would suffer with this book.”

I did… I suffered with this book! I suffer for Four, for Tris, for the entire plot and twists it had. But it was a good kind of undergo 🙂

It seems to me that I’ve been picking up amazing books recently. And this is definitely one PERFECT book. 

If you haven’t read it yet, what the hell are you waiting for?!

My Cups:

XX Ner

10 thoughts on “Review: Divergent

  1. FINALMENTE ALGUÉM QUE ME COMPREENDE!Subscrevo tudo o que disseste.Sem dúvida um dos melhores livros que li! xDDAinda bem que também gostaste! weeeeeeeeeeeee!Colton Haynes para Four, please!eheheh;)

  2. @Inês: Tens que ler isto… a sério, quando puderes compra o livro e lê! É qualquer coisa de espectacular :)@Marina: Oh Marina… não tens noção! Eu sofri com este livro… mas no bom sentido. Quero o "Insurgent" NOW!!!Colton Haynes para Four! YES!!!! YES!!!!

  3. @Ria: Ahah I know, right?! Divergent is definitely one of my favourite books :)Thank you so much for stepping by and for commenting. I'll try to keep my review updated :DXX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

