Review: The Vampire’s Daughter

The Vampire’s Daughter

Author: Shayne Leighton
Release Date: June 28th, 2011 (originally June 26th, 2011)
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Pages: 258 (Paperback) | 360 (ebook)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 Vampires | Paranormal | Fantasy
Series: Of Light And Darkness #1
Idiom: English
Read: from November 27 to December 1 2012
Source & Shelf: NetGalley | Kobo
ISBN: 9781613330319 (Paperback)
               9780011346439 (ebook)

 

Synopsis:

When one human stands before an army of impossible obstacles, the likelihood of overcoming them in this coming-of-age modern fairytale may result in war between light and darkness.

Abandoned as an infant in Prague, naive and strong-willed Charlotte Ruzikova was raised by one of the last Vampires left alive. As a human, she knows no other home than the one nestled deep in the woods of Eastern Europe, where Witches drew spells of enchantment, Phasers threw tea parties, and Elves are the closest in kin. Charlotte has lived her life in the dark with her Guardian, content to having him to herself and revealing in his attention, until she’s realizes she wants more…

Resident medical doctor and Vampire, Valek Ruzik fears the day his ward would come of age and blossom into a fine woman, and he is forced to confront his own motives as time is of the essence once his past catches up to him, and their lives become endangered…

As genocide and war threatens their secret society, the dictator in power is ready to wipe out Valek’s race, but Charlotte will not allow that to happen. Fighting for the only one she’s ever loved and truly believed in, she will do whatever it takes to save their love… before the sun comes up and light takes over.

My Opinion:

Disclaimer: I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

*This review might contain spoilers*

This book was quite a surprise to me. I admit I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. Honestly, when I began reading it I was scared of what would come out of it being this a paranormal story between a vampire and a human – we all are aware, I think, of the huge hype around this sort of romance since Twilight came out.

However, as soon as I got deep and deeper into the story, I realised this was a brand new world and a brand new romance where vampires behave like vampires and romance has its perks.

Yes, I admit I’m a sucker for real vampires!

You see what I did here?!

Valek finds Charlotte on the streets of Prague. Something between him and the baby connects and he takes her and raises her. After 18 years of living in the Occult, separated from the human world and within a community of supernatural creatures, Charlotte hunts for Valek (her own kind) and knows little of the outside world. Even though Valek is seen as her guardian, her feelings towards him have changed and she doesn’t see him as a fatherly figure anymore, but something more.

Now, here comes my ranting explaining the reason I gave this book 3,5 cups and not 4.

I simply couldn’t help but wince, even if slightly, at the thought of how these two characters changed from father-daughter into lovers. Charlotte grew up with Valek as a her only fatherly figure and then falls in love with him. Never in a million years have I imagined such a thing to happen. And the vice-versa happens too though. Valek soon realises he’s in love with Charlotte, a young woman he adopted as a daughter and treated as such. That was a bit awkward and strange, perhaps a little bit forced in my opinion. 

It would have been better if the father-daughter relationship wasn’t described the way it was. How?! Maybe if they had grown-up as best friends (like Charlotte and Aiden) instead of parent and child.

Okay, ranting’s over. Moving on to the review.

This book had something I’m not used to: bad elves! Yes, freaking evil elves. I know there’s loads of books where elves are good and stuff but I wasn’t expecting this book, especially Aiden, to be as devilish as he was. Seriously, I just wanted to slap him hard in the face. He annoyed me a lot in the book… me, who kind of liked him in the beginning! 

But I guess he got all that evilness from his father and Vladislov, the boss of the Regime. He’s the heir to the throne, so to speak, meaning he’s Vladislov’s solemn heir to continue his evil plans.

The Regime is trying to keep the supernatural world hidden from humans. Vladislov is a wizard who is the head of a malevolent plan against all vampires: he plans a genocide ridding the world of the “bloodsuckers”. Yes, he wants to kill all the vampires.

But Aiden wants Charlotte to himself and has plans of his own. He intends on having a human by his side and rule the entire world: not only his supernatural“Occult Cities” but the human world as well. Let’s say that Charlotte’s relationship with Valek – Vladislov attempt of murder – makes everything twist and turn and both Light and Darkness are at war.

Valek is a true vampire, meaning that he dies with the sun and craves for human blood. Charlotte even becomes a “blood doll” to the vampire coven that is hiding them from the Regime and soon joins Valek in the fight against Vladislov.

One of the things I really liked was Charlotte’s addiction to a vampire’s bite, Valek’s bite that is. Seriously, I never read anything with this twist before. Normally is a vampire addicted to someone’s blood, not the other way around. I liked it!!!

Poor David… lost it!

Shayne Leighton’s writing was easy-going albeit the slender predictable plot. She had a crazy imagination and I adored every single character – especially Edwin and Sarah (loved Sarah) – they were very well developed and explored. Her descriptions were so detailed it’s easy for us to picture all in our heads. I, for instance, have a clear picture of Valek, Charlotte, Sarah, Francis and Vladislov in my mind and I was slightly disappointed when I saw the current casting for the movie/TV-series. (oh yeah, there’s a movie/TV-Series being planned for this – might do a post about this later). Not that they are not good… they’re just not what I’ve pictured.

Set in contemporary Prague, this book was fantastic and a hell of a ride. The Vampire’s Daughter is sure to sink its teeth on some real vampires’ lovers. As for Leighton, this was a great debut and I wish all the luck with the upcoming filming project.

My Cups:

XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

