Review: The Guardian Duke

The Guardian Duke

Author: Jamie Carie
Release Date: February 1st, 2012 (originally January 6st, 2012)
Publisher: B&H Books
Pages: 320 (Paperback)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 Romance | Mystery | Christian
Series: Forgotten Castles #1
Idiom: English
Read: from December 1 to 6, 2012
Source & Shelf: NetGalley | Kobo
ISBN: 9781433673221 (Paperback)

 


Synopsis
:

The Guardian Duke is award-winning novelist Jamie Carie’s most exciting story yet, a uniquely arranged Regency-era romantic adventure where hero and heroine know each other through written letters but have yet to meet.

Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton, is ordered by the King to take guardianship over Lady Alexandria Featherstone whose parents are presumed dead after failing to return from a high profile treasure hunt. But Alexandria ignores this royal reassignment, believing her parents are still alive and duly following clues that may lead to their whereabouts. Gabriel, pressured by what are actually the King’s ulterior motives, pursues her across windswept England and the rolling green hills of Ireland but is always one step behind.

When they do meet, the search for earthly treasure will pale in comparison to what God has planned for both of them.

My Opinion:

Disclaimer: I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

You have got to be kidding me?!

I know this is not the best way to start a review but, seriously, there’s something wrong with me as of lately. I’ve been reading books that end in the most unexpected (upsetting) ways possible. Fit all started with Shadowfell… God, I’m about to hit something. I need a book that ends well!!!!

And I won’t promise this review to be coherent! I’m simply lost for words with how this ended!

Okay, calm down my heart. It’s only a book… there’s the sequel you’ve already requested. 

So, The Guardian Duke is not the sort of book I would pick up and buy. I’m more of a fantasy/paranormal person than a Christian Romance; especially a Christian Romance. Last Christian book I’ve read I couldn’t even finish. 

However, I admit that I do love romance and sometimes is good to stray from our comfort zone and read something different. This doesn’t have fantasy but it does have mystery, something I do enjoy. Plus, the cover was simply gorgeous (yes, I think I can say I judge books by the cover). And all the reviews I’ve read said many good things about it. So I thought “Why not?!”.

Duke Gabriel St. Easton is a person who loves music. Unfortunately, fate plays a trick with him and he loses his hearing. While he struggles with his condition and tries to remain the Duke everyone knows, he receives the news that he became the guardian of Lady Alexandria Featherstone whose parents are supposedly dead. They soon begin to exchange correspondence and Lady Alex isn’t the sort of damsel in distress Gabriel first thought.

Alex leaves alone on her lonely island with her servants but she’s not the typical lady; she leaves a simple life and has always been independent. Her parents are gone and she faces the possibility of their death. But she doesn’t believe it and refuses to acknowledge it so, through her recent granted guardian, plans her own expedition in order to find them. She flies her island and soon is travelling to Ireland to find clues about her parents’ whereabouts.

Gabriel and Alex relationship is seen through the letter they trade between each other. The romance, especially Gabriel’s feelings, grows by their correspondence instead of seeing each other and falling immediately in love. What they know about each other is solemnly due to the letters.

There are a lot of things happening in the book. Not only do we have a relation between ward and guardian – two people completely different from each other – but we have their own small problems to deal with. Gabriel is trying to figure out what is wrong with him and his hearing while at the same time tries to find his ward that has run off to Ireland. Alex is not only trying to find her parents but also trying to avoid being “caught” by the duke and the Spaniards who are after her – not exactly after her but after what her parents (they are treasure hunters) where searching for. All this together with the increasing romance Gabriel feels. For me, Alex only has a small infatuation towards her guardian while Gabriel is completely smitten.

I could go on eternally really. There’s not a dull moment in the book. Each chapter is dedicated to each one of them, focusing on their struggles and their feelings. What I only think lacks in the book are the letters. There were just a few ones and for me they were not enough to make someone fall in love with each other.

And then we have that huge cliffhanger at the end which made me stare at my copy for several minutes, blinking and gasping. That was cruel, really cruel. After 300 and something pages, I was hoping for a little bit more. Sure it made me eager for the sequel, but still. I liked, at the end, the fact that Lady Alex recognised him… that was sweet even if evil.

Not being my kind of book, this was a delightful reading and those who like romance with a bit of mystery and characters that are human, this is a must read. Just watch out for the cliffhanger.

My Cups:

XX Ner

2 thoughts on “Review: The Guardian Duke

  1. I hate it when I get on a streak like this and have one downer after the other or any other streak for that matter, other than fabulous. I have the first two in this series and am looking forward to giving them a try.Thanks for your great review. May your next reads break the curse! 🙂

  2. @The Readingista: Yah, it sucks when you read a bad ending book after the other and you're like "come on, give me something that ends good!"Oh, I really enjoyed this book even though it's not my usual genre of book to pick up. Hope you'll enjoy it. I have the sequel and can't wait to read it :)Thank you so much for the comment ^_^X Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

