What Happened This Week….

I’ve realised that this last week I totally neglected you guys. I’m a terrible blogger and there are no words to describe how sorry I am.

So, I’ve decided to let you know how this last week was. Basically this is me telling you everything book-related that was part of my week from Monday 17th to today, Sunday 23rd.

What Happened This Week:

First, I gave up reading Branded. The book had a good premise and the beginning actually interested me. But then a couple of things happened that I couldn’t put a finger on and I had to drop it. I was forcing myself to read something that was making me upset and I was slowly entering a reading slump period… which I was trying to avoid at all costs.

 

Therefore I decided to pick up Grim which is an anthology of various fairytale retelling by various YA authors. It’s the book I read during my British Contemporary Literature – seriously guys, those classes are so boring you need to do something… and since it’s on the auditorium, which is a big place and I sit way at the back, why not use that time reading?! Sure, I should be taking notes and paying attention but we’re still in the “poetry” sessions… I’m waiting for the fiction ones 😉

At the same time I decided to pick-up Devil in the Corner. In college I read Grim, at home I read this one. And since it’s a gothic tale, I thought it would help me get in the mood to read more because Branded almost managed to get me into a reading slump as I mentioned before. Took me a while to reach at least 10% of the book… but I’m managing it though!

 


I also entered a Portuguese contest where you could win up to three books. I entered, my friends helped me and I won those three books. The books I really wanted were sold out but there was quite of a variety of books to choose from. I’m still waiting for them and as soon as they arrive, I’ll post a special Showcase Sunday. I’m very excited about one book… one hint: Neil Gaiman!!!!

And you already know from my Showcase Sunday, I FINALLY have Throne of Glass and the book is so pretty!!!!

You guys have no idea how long I’ve been wanting this book. Winning Crown of Midnight (there you have guys…. the explanation for why I bought ToG!!) was truly a nice way to force myself into finally  buying Throne of Glass. When I added it to my Goodreads shelf, I saw everyone (and I mean EVERYONE) that I follow giving it more than 4 stars. Which must mean only one thing: this book must be a killer!!!!

So, this is basically what happened this week in my reading-bubble. It’s not much and I blame my tiredness. However, I wanted you guys to know that even though University started, this blog will always be my escape from reality. Because we all know that reading is the best way to avoid the raw hardship of responsibilities, right?! 

XX Ner

4 thoughts on “What Happened This Week….

  1. Throne of Glass!!! It’s SO pretty! I’ve been really wanting to read that series in the last few weeks – I’ve heard that it’s absolutely amazing. Maybe I’ll add both books to my to-buy list this month!

    Welcome back by the way! We still love you 😉

    • I haven’t seen a single negative review from everyone I follow on Goodreads. I must be missing something extraordinary indeed and I can’t wait to start reading it 🙂 Hope you’ll get it soon and if you happen to read it before me, let me know how it was 😉

      Aaaawwww… I love you too *virtual hug*. And thank you so much for the support. It means a lot me ^_^

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

