Review: Touched By An Angel

Review by Ner:
Touched By An Angel

Author: Jonathan Morris
Release Date: June 23rd, 2011
Publisher: BBC Books
Pages: 224 (Paperback)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 Doctor Who | Sci-Fi Time-Travel
Series: Doctor Who: New Series Adventures #46
Idiom: English
Read: from March 26 to 30, 2014
Source & Shelf: NetGalley | Kobo
ISBN: 
9781849907569 (Paperback)
Cups:
4be0c-4cups
  Amazon


Synopsis:

‘The past is like a foreign country. Nice to visit, but you really wouldn’t want to live there.’

In 2003, Rebecca Whitaker died in a road accident. Her husband Mark is still grieving. He receives a battered envelope, posted eight years earlier, containing a set of instructions with a simple message: ‘You can save her.’

As Mark is given the chance to save Rebecca, it’s up to the Doctor, Amy and Rory to save the whole world. Because this time the Weeping Angels are using history itself as a weapon.

An adventure featuring the Eleventh Doctor, as played by Matt Smith, and his companions Amy and Rory.


My Opinion:

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Touched by an Angel is a Doctor Who story with the 11th Doctor and the Ponds. I have to admit that, even though I haven’t read that many Doctor Who books (SHAME ON YOU NER!), this one is my by far (as of yet!) one of my favourites.

The story is very touchy: Mark’s wife died eight years ago on a car accident and since then his life has been pretty much a misery. One day he receives a letter from his past self that will change his entire life, past/present and future, forever. That’s when the Weeping Angels begin their hunt and the Doctor, Amy and Rory have to help me from creating a paradox that will, very probably, destroy the entire universe. Because that letter contains something we can’t ignore: it says he can save his wife’s life.

The plot of this book was so good even though it features one of the things I’m most scared of: the Weeping Angels. Seriously, these statues that can kill you or send you back in time are the most terrifying thing in the whole world.

DON’T BLINK!!!! 

But what I enjoyed the most about this book was the fact it wasn’t only centred around the Doctor trying to save the world but, instead, it focused more on Mark’s own life.

This is one of those stories that, were it a true visually episode of Doctor Who, it would have been one of the best ones. Because it had a little bit of everything: mystery, time paradoxes, romance, comedy, everything we all love about Doctor Who. And it would be one of those that you would be hooked since the first second – I sure was hooked since page one.

I was a little bit worried about where the story would be heading but it was very solid. The Weeping Angels background story was very well developed and the whole jump in time and the “don’t-do-anything-that-can-alter-the-course-of-history” was so brilliantly explored I didn’t had any trouble following it. 

The Doctor, Amy and Rory were so true to their characters in the series I felt like I was watching them before me. But Mark’s character was the one that had the most impact in the book. He was the true main character in Touched by an Angel and his constant battle between saving the love of his life or save the universe was so emotive I had tears in my eyes.

And since I don’t want spoil much and I can’t write a decent review without spoiling too much, I can only say that this is a must read book to all Doctor Who fans who wish a great and brilliant adventure where he, or Amy and/or Rory are not the main characters.  

XX Ner

3 thoughts on “Review: Touched By An Angel

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up |March | A Cup of Coffee and a Book

  2. Yes this is also really one of my favourite DW books! First I bought it because it mentioned Harry Potter (in like one sentence but still), but then when I finished it I thought it was so amazing! It made me want to read even more Doctor Who books (which I did XD)

    • Definitely reading more DW books after this one (I’m improving… this was my second one xD).

      I always thought the books would never managed to have the same essence as the series but this one proved me wrong. It was very good I even had tears in my eyes 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and Geronimo hehe 😉

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

