Ner’s Rambling (#3 – Opinions!)

Ner's Ramblings

When I first started blogging, one of the things I wanted was to share my own personal and solemn opinion towards a book or a movie. I wanted the whole world (or as close to that as possible) to know that I had the most amazing experience with a book or that I had the most dreadfully one. Either way, I just wanted people to know what I felt about a particular thing.

As a blogger, I am faced with this fear of being misinterpreted or misunderstood when it comes to an opinion. I know I shouldn’t really care – so to speak – about what others think but I always have this small tiny fear that people won’t like my blog because of my own likings. Meaning: I’m scared that a person who didn’t liked a particular book will not follow my blog because I did enjoyed it.

You might see this as a pathetic thing but for me it’s one of the most important things when it comes to post a review. 

However, there is one thing I dread even more than what I mentioned above: that a fellow reader won’t read a book because I gave a negative opinion. When people comment my negative reviews with “well, if you didn’t liked it I won’t even bother pick it up now!” I feel my heart constrict… seriously.

I don’t really like being the main reason why people didn’t do something they wanted to do in the first place only because I didn’t enjoy it. Mainly because we are all different and our tastes aren’t the same which means that you might happen to enjoy that book.

For instance, Kayla @The Thousand Lives picked up Thin Space after I published my negative review and she enjoyed it much more than I did. I was really happy that she had given the book a try when she was sceptical about it after reading my review and  that she didn’t take my own opinion for granted. You can read her review here

And the same goes to the other way around. 

My friend Carla started reading Under the Never Sky and didn’t even finished it even though I absolutely loved it (as you know, I think, it was one of my favourite books from last year – review). I kept telling her that the book would get better with Roar and all but she eventually gave it up. 

When I loved a book and other person happens not to enjoy it it kind of hurts but it’s a bittersweet pain. It’s bittersweet because at least that person managed to have his/hers own opinion about it without having to stick with mine.

Of course that I sometimes end up not picking up a book because of a negative review, or reading a book based on the positive hype and not enjoying it… but I normally prefer to have my own opinion and then compare it with other bloggers’ reviews. That way I can criticise or marvelled that particular book and/or author(s).

With this I mean to ask you not to stick with my own opinion; don’t say you won’t read something just because I, or any other blogger, wrote a negative or disappointing review about it. Read it and make up your mind about it… who knows, you might find your favourite book amongst my least favourite ones 😉

XX Ner

5 thoughts on “Ner’s Rambling (#3 – Opinions!)

  1. Awwww, don’t worry sweetie, I didn’t give up entirely! I’m going back to it when I finish 3 books that really are a priority to me right now :p (one of which happens to be the one your mother lent me 🙂 )

    • Yay!!! I’m happy you didn’t gave it up and I pray (really, I’m praying) that you end up liking it 🙂

      Oh, don’t worry about my mum’s book. Take your time reading it (it’s ginourmous so you can relax and read it slowly :D)

      XX Ner

  2. hi Ner…. don’t worry about it! I will follow you the same! most of the times I compare several opinions regarding a book, and I’ve noticed that the opinions are personal and one person love it and another hate it, so, I made my own choice, read it or leave it,…. 😀

    • Aaawwww… thank you Fernanda. It means a lot to me and it warms my heart to hear (in this case read) this 🙂

      It’s nice to compare opinions. Other person might have a different point-of-view about something and having several it’s a good thing 😉

      Thank you so much for the lovely words *virtual hug*

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

