Friday Reads (13/06/2014)

Friday Reads

Ooh, it’s Friday the 13th!!!

Be scared… be really scared… only if you’re superstitious – which I am and am not (just don’t let me walk under a ladder, okay?)

So, the weather last week was horrible and this week it’s out of control. Meaning: IT’S SO HOT!!! Seriously, the weather is bipolar :S

Anyway, this post isn’t for me to rant about the weather but to show you what I’m reading during the weekend, right? And, what I’m reading is the following:

Alias Hook
Lisa Jensen

“Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It’s my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy.”

Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan’s rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain.

With Stella’s knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook’s last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game. Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen is a beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale.

***

I’ve been looking forward to read this book ever since I got it accepted on NetGalley. You probably know this but Peter Pan is one of my favourite classics of all time and having the chance to read a book about Captain Hook… I mean, who can refuse it, right?

I’m really in the beginning so I haven’t read that much but I can tell you that I’ve been spoiled by Once Upon a Time because I can’t really stop imagining Captain Hook like this:

I wouldn’t mind getting hooked with this Captain Hook 😉 (see what I did there? *wink*)

And I feel so professional with this book. Right in the first chapter there were a lot of things I needed to write down. I normally don’t take notes while reading – it makes me loose my concentration – but with this one I found myself writing down a few things.

Oh, look at that! I look like a pro:P

Anyway, I hope to get into this book during the rest of the weekend. I believe this will be quite of an emotional book so I can’t really wait to continue it 😉

What about you? What are you guys reading?!

XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

