Friday Reads – More Like Saturday Reads (#4 – 21/02/2015)

Friday Reads

SORRY THE LATENESS!

I’m so sorry for not having posted this yesterday, Friday. I only had time to prepare and schedule a Blitz that will be featured here Monday – keep a weather eye out on that one 😉

Thursday I’ve managed to finish The Novice by Taran Matharu and I LOVED IT!! Seriously, it was such an amazing book!! It took me a while to read it due to University though. I would end up falling asleep as soon as I would finish reading a chapter despite being really into the story! Yeah, I was that tired!!! The book was amazing and I could read it for the rest of my life because the writing, the plot, the characters, Ignatius (you gotta meet this little fellow!! Imagine Toothless as a little Salamander and you can get a picture of this demon!) everything was per-fec-tion!! You can check out what I wrote on Goodreads about the book as soon as I’ve finished it (the full review is yet to come!) here 🙂

Anyway, moving on to the book I’m currently reading. If you follow me on Instagram and on Goodreads (plus here if you’d paid attention), you will already know the book I’ve picked up to read. No idea? Check out the book I’ve started yesterday:

A Magic Dark and Bright [The Asylum Saga #1]
Jenny Adams Perinovic

She meant to help a ghost…not unleash a curse.

Amelia Dupree hasn’t seen the Woman in White since the night her brother died. 

The ghost seems to have disappeared from the woods surrounding Asylum, Pennsylvania—that is, until Charlie Blue moves into the creepy old MacAllister House next door. Amelia can’t help liking him, even though she spent her childhood thinking his grandmother was a witch. And she definitely can’t ignore the connection between his arrival and the Woman in White’s return. 

Then Amelia learns that the Woman in White is a prisoner, trapped between the worlds of the living and the dead. Devastated by the idea that her brother could be suffering a similar fate, Amelia decides to do whatever it takes to help the Woman in White find peace–and Charlie agrees to help her.

But when Amelia’s classmates start to drown in the Susquehanna River, one right after another, rumors swirl as people begin to connect the timing of Charlie’s arrival with the unexplained deaths. As Charlie and Amelia uncover the dark history of Asylum, they realize they may have unleashed an unspeakable evil. One they have to stop before everything they love is destroyed.

***

I only read around 60 pages (ebook pages), which is around 29% of it and I’m already enjoying it a lot! It’s creepy enough to have me looking around the bedroom but at the same time so captivating it’s hard to pull away from it. Actually, Lisa Maxwell, the author of Sweet Unrest which is one of my favourite books from last year, has a blurb on the cover (not sure if you can actually read it on the picture above) saying it is indeed a captivating book. Alright, she’s right about that!!! 

I’m so curious to know what is going to happen, what happened to Amelia’s brother… I mean, I want to know everything!! I couldn’t read much more yesterday because it was already late and I had to get some sleep but I’m pretty sure that if I didn’t need any sleep, I would have finished it on one sitting 🙂

What about you? What are you reading on this Saturday – or started yesterday?

You can leave me a comment or share via Instagram (you can follow me here) and/or Twitter (you can follow me here) by using the following hashtag #FridayReadsAndCoffee 🙂

Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

