Friday Reads (#9 – 19/06/2015)

Friday Reads

Friday means… PARTY ALL NIGHT LONG!!

Well, at least for me. I’m having dinner with my friends tonight (haven’t seen them for a very long time) and I’m super excited!

I’m almost done with this book which means I’ll be able to pick up two books I got for two blog tours! Really looking forward to that 🙂 But this weekend will be filled with studies ’cause Tuesday I have an exam. But that doesn’t mean I can’t read a little bit at night, does it?

So, check out the book I’ll be reading this weekend:

The Selection [The Selection #1]
Kiera Cass

Thirty-five beautiful girls. Thirty-five beautiful rivals…

It’s the chance of a lifetime and 17-year-old America Singer should feel lucky. She has been chosen for The Selection, a reality TV lottery in which the special few compete for gorgeous Prince Maxon’s love.

Swept up in a world of elaborate gowns, glittering jewels and decadent feasts, America is living a new and glamorous life. And the prince takes a special interest in her, much to the outrage of the others.

Rivalry within The Selection is fierce and not all of the girls are prepared to play by the rules. But what they don’t know is that America has a secret — one which could throw the whole competition… and change her life forever

***

I have to be honest, I’ve seen people compare this to the Bachelor. As a Portuguese reader, I’ve never seen that! Sure, I’ve seen some programs of the sort on MTV (which I pretty much detest) but from what I could gather from that American program, it pretty much summons up this book. Let me know if I’m wrong 🙂

So far I’m really enjoying it. Though I get a The Hunger Games vibe once in a while – I guess it has to do with all the cameras, the presenter, the make-up department and all – I find this new sort of Dystopia world, where there is a monarchy, rather interesting.And, of course, the fact that I want to know who’ll win the competition makes even the more exciting.

And, may I say that I’m already rooting for America and Maxon? I like their sort of friendship and I feel that she’s exactly what royalty needs. So, yeah, I’m Team Maxon already 🙂

FridayReadsandCoffee Insta

What about you? What are you reading this Friday? Which book(s) will accompany you this weekend?

You can leave me a comment or share what you’re reading via Instagram (you can follow me here) and/or Twitter (you can follow me here) by using the following hashtag #FridayReadsAndCoffee 🙂

Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

