Review: Infinite

Ner Reviews - Infinite

Engage

Author: Erica Crouch
Release Date: June 16th, 2015
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Pages: 377 (paperback)
Format: ebook
Genre:
 YA | Angels | Paranormal
Idiom: English
Series: Ignite #3
Read: from June 10 to 14, 2015
Source & Shelf: NetGalley | Kobo
ISBN: 9781927940358 
(Paperback)
Cups:

Amazon

Synopsis:

There are infinite ways to die, and the fates are calling for blood. After evading Azael since her betrayal, it’s finally time for Pen to stop running and face her desperate brother. But she won’t have to challenge him alone: the rebel army of New Genesis is ready to stand strong and fight to secure the future they believe in.

As Azael spirals deeper and deeper into darkness, and Pen grapples with her new leadership role, a familiar name rises to power whose decisions have the potential to rewrite everyone’s future. Dangerous secrets, silent traitors, and unraveling fates means that time is running out. There’s no telling who will survive the final battle.

In this thrilling conclusion to the Ignite series, Pen and Azael return to finish what they started over a millennia ago.

My Opinion:

Disclaimer: Thank you NetGalley and Patchwork Press for providing me with a copy.

First reaction as posted on Goodreads (on 14 June):

What’s this?!

Am I crying?!
I am crying!!

Why do you do this to me Erica?!?!

Now, the full review (warning: extensive abuse of animated gifs!)

Erica Crouch is a delightfully evil person. No, seriously, she is. She wrote one of the BEST endings to a series I’ve ever had the opportunity to read. She had me in tears (once again!) but I admit that those were happy tears. Actually, I had so many feelings reading this book I sent the whole time with my heart in my hands. I cried, I laughed, I panicked, I hated, I loved and a lot more. I was inside a glass case of emotions and I was too masochist to want to get out. I was loving it!

Infinite is the last book in the Ignite series. Damn, I can’t believe this is the end. Since I read Ignite, two years ago now, I’ve been following Erica‘s work and loving every bit of it. It’s hard to say goodbye to these characters that I became so attached to, so fond of. But being able to accompany their journey till the very end is the most awarding experience ever. Especially if that same end is simply EPIC.

In this book we continue following Pen and Michael’s struggle within the war between angels and demons and Azael’s tormented mind. In addiction to the sibling’s voice, we also get a scope of what’s inside Lilith’s mind. Not wanting to dwell to much in the plot itself – not wanting to give any spoiler – let me just warn you that the moment you set foot inside this book, you are immediately swept away into a spiral of conflicts, turmoils and battles. 

Pen and Michael complete each other in so many levels it’s impossible to have one without the other.They grew up to become this huge pair of survivors and fighters, always standing up for what they believe but never leaving anyone behind. If Ignite had these strong romantic pair that I was rapidly shipping, this book made me love them all over again. And their love is so sweet, deep and real it’s impossible not to ship them almost straight away.

AZAEL!!! NOOOOOOOO!!!!

Why do you go breaking my heart like this? The conflict inside his end, the hurt, the confrontation with Pen, everything broke my heart into tiny little pieces. This story isn’t about the love between Michael and Pen or the fight between Heaven and Hell… it’s about these siblings who despite being so different from each other, manage to be one being intertwine. And the final confrontation between them was one of the hardest things I’ve ever read in my life. 

Lilith was a shock. What she does in the Prologue was totally unexpected and the way she sort of manipulates her way into the throne showed us she wasn’t a character to be taken lightly. However, I was so focused on the siblings I only wanted to skip her parts. But, I admit, that her voice was hypnotic ever for us readers, we ended up reading her chapters thirstily.

Kala and Ana! No… I’m not talking about that! I refuse to! Erica, and all of you who read Infinite will know why I don’t want to talk about them. It was too cruel… especially after reading Engage! You can’t do that to us Erica… it hurts too much!

Now, let’s talk about the ending! The ending was beautiful and totally unexpected. When I realised what was happening, I couldn’t help but gasp at how perfect it was. The line between good and evil will never disappear but people can change. And Pen was the character that changed the most, the one that sacrificed everything she had to those she loved the most so I found the ending quite comforting and rewarding. When I started Infinite, I had no idea what kind of end I was about to meet so, when I finally reached that moment, I was relieved to know that I did liked it, that I understood Erica‘s reason to write it the way she did. You truly are amazing!

Erica‘s writing was impeccable once again. The way she manages to swift from one character to the other was skilfully made and her talent continues to blow me away. The final battle was so well detailed, so well developed I was hooked in her words, trap inside the story mind and body and soul. Beautiful and action-paced and breathtaking. 

I had the highest of expectations and Erica managed to surpass them delivering the perfect conclusion to a series I loved. It was emotional to the point of leaving you sobbing and wanting more and more. I still hope for more – a short-story from Michael’s perspective for instance?. But overall this was PERFECTION!

Just one small thing: thank you for this amazing series! That’s all ❤

Ner

3 thoughts on “Review: Infinite

  1. Adorei a tua opinião! Gostava que esta série fosse editada em português… Boas leituras e muita inspiração para as tuas reviews! Bjs. Inês.

    • Acho que ias adorar ler esta trilogia (até podes ler no tablet, quando tiveres comigo explico-te como :P).

      Thanks sweetie!!! Esta foi daquelas reviews que se não a escrevesse o mais depressa possível (e já veio mais tarde do que tinha planeado), arrebentava de emoção ^_^

      Beijões ❤

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

