Friday Reads (#13 – 28/08/2017)

Friday Reads

Hi guys!! *insert waving hand emoji*

Oh man… August is almost over and this next Monday I have to enrol on my last (hopefully and finally) year at Uni. Though I’m quite excited for it, I’m also very scared because of all the work I’m going to have to do. And I’m also going to do a minor (a small part of your degree out of your degree area) in History and I’m super pumped and frightened for that. Pray for me 😉

So, this weekend I’m reading a book I was really excited about. Last year I read Sweet Unrest by this author and really liked it so, when I found out about this book, I had to read it. And since I had to put Hunter aside (really, it wasn’t working for me), I couldn’t have asked for a better book to stop a reading-slump from taking its toll on me.

Also, I enjoyed Sweet Unrest so much that Lisa Maxwell was one of my Falling for Autumn’ guest authors with a top 10 places to visit in New Orleans.. 

Check out that book that I’m reading this weekend:

Gathering Deep [Sweet Unrest #2]
Lisa Maxwell

When Chloe Sabourin wakes in a dark, New Orleans cemetery with no memory of the previous days, she can hardly believe the story her friends tell her. They say Chloe was possessed by a witch named Thisbe, who had used the darkest magic to keep herself alive for over a century. They tell her that the witch is the one responsible for the unspeakable murders that nearly claimed the life of Chloe’s friend, Lucy. Most unbelievable of all, they say that Thisbe is Chloe’s own mother. As she struggles with this devastating revelation and tries to rebuilt her life, Chloe wants nothing to do with the magic that corrupted her mother…especially since she feels drawn to it.

Now, a new series of ritualistic killings suggests that Thisbe is plotting again, and Chloe is drawn unwillingly back into the mystical underworld of the French Quarter. To stop Thisbe before she kills again, Chloe and her friends must learn what they can from the mysterious Mama Legba. But when her boyfriend Piers vanishes, Chloe will have to risk everything and embrace her own power to save the one person she has left… even if that means bringing down her mother.

***

Unfortunately last night I couldn’t read anything of this book because I had a terrible headache. I had planned on reaching at least 55% last night but life got in the way and ruined my plans. Still, hopefully I’ll be able to read a lot today and during the weekend. I really want to finish this book still in August ’cause my wrap-up is going to be pretty pitiful :S

So far I’m enjoying this book. This works as a sequel to Sweet Unrest but told from Chloe’s perspective. I admit, stupidly, that I thought this was other story until I started the book. Don’t know why I thought than when the synopsis clearly tells you what’s going one. I guess I had a mental breakdown.

It has been a while since I read Sweet Unrest so there are a couple of things I don’t remember that well. But one of the great things about this book is the fact that the whole story rushed back into you when someone mentions it. There were things I had forgotten in Sweet Unrest that came back to me when I started reading this book. I think that’s incredible. 

I’m hoping for a great gothic/magical book just like Sweet Unrest was. I only hope there won’t be an ending like the previous one. Trust me, Sweet Unrest had one of those endings that left in shock. It was good but I was in shock.

Insta Gathering Deep

What about you? What are you reading this Friday? Which book(s) will accompany you this weekend?

You can leave me a comment or share what you’re reading via Instagram (you can follow me here) and/or Twitter (you can follow me here) by using the following hashtag #FridayReadsandCoffee 🙂

Ner

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads (#13 – 28/08/2017)

  1. That book sounds great. I like the names Thisbe and Mama Legba. Makes me think it combines bits of Greek and Haitian elements.
    I’m rereading a Harry Potter book this weekend and will probably finish Jason and the Argonauts.

  2. Pingback: Weekend Reads #17: On Translations | Zezee with Books

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

