Review: Twilight Visitor [+ Giveaway]

NER REVIEWS (TwilightVisitor)

TwilightVisitor

Author: Réal Laplaine
Release Date: August 27th, 2014
Publisher: Netherworld Books
Pages: 216 (Paperback)
Format: Papaerback
Genre:
 Thriller | Sci-Fi
Idiom: English
Series: —
Read: from September 3 to 8, 2015
Source & Shelf: Sent by Author | Own
ISBN: 9781910105238
(Paperback)
Cups:
35 Cups
Amazon

Synopsis

On a secluded stretch of beach girding the idyllic coastal town of Afife, Portugal, sits a lonely man enduring the harsh and blustery winds, hoping to escape the tragic reality of his mediocre life. His solitude is broken by the appearance of a strangely beautiful and mysterious woman who engages him in a bizarre dialogue. Meanwhile, on the other side of the world, a global crisis erupts, quickly mushrooming in just 24-hours into a worldwide event which threatens the very survival of all mankind. Mateus Cordozo has no idea that his dysfunctional life is about to radically change, and that this woman is in fact leading him down a road which will challenge his core values as he faces the crisis – one which he has the power to prevent, if he chooses to.

“Twilight Visitor is an international thriller, with a complicated, intense plot and colourful characters. Its elegant prose, rich with original metaphors and succinct descriptions, creates an illusion of dazzling sceneries, almost palpable components of reality, and suspense, deftly mixed with philosophical and political dilemmas of contemporary life. The excitement of reading it ends only on the last page.” Alex Markman Author of Contra-ODESSA

My Opinion

Disclaimer: Thank you Réal Laplaine for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Twilight Visitor was a rather surprising book. I was sent this book by the author himself and one of the main reasons I accepted it was the fact that part of the book is set in Portugal AND that one of the main characters is indeed Portuguese. I was rather curious to read a geopolitical thriller with a Portuguese character since this sort of books normally focus on the American hero.

Twilight Visitor is a thriller, a geopolitical book with a sci-fi twist. Yes, I know, not my normal genre of book to read but sometimes it feels rather enlightening to step out of our comfort zone and read something different. Though politics and myself don’t get along that well, I found the way that Réal Laplaine explained it simply beautiful and very simple, easy to understand.

The best way to resume this book is simply to say that this deals with the human worry of a possible World War Three happening due to the lack of natural resources. Let’s be honest, I think we all are terrified of a possible nuclear war in the future, a war that might happen for different reasons but all connected to the same thing. At least I know I am.

The Portuguese character is called Mateus and is spending time in Afife, in the Portuguese coast. I myself admit never having been there before but now I am slightly curious. He is an important piece of the puzzle to solve the worldwide crises and China from attacking further and to stop the incoming war. 

The writing style of Twilight Visitor was really well done. I found that the prose fluid smoothly and Laplaine has a way of explaining things that are quite, as I mentioned, simple yet with this beauty to yet that is almost hypnotic. I admit that one of main reasons I enjoyed this book that much was the writing.

This book is not centred on Mateus though but on all the political people involved in this war theatre happening. We can read the struggle of an American President with the decision to whether help Iran or to let China attack innocent people; of China’s leader cruel intentions of rescuing resources for his own country; of important figures worldwide trying to decide what to do in this moment of darkness. And there were also chapters which presented us innocent people in the middle of all of this who can’t escape fate. The countdown to the inevitable end was told like this, switching from one point-of-view to the other and that had me on the edge.  

I dare say that I was only slightly disappointed with Mateus role in all of this. I guess I was expecting him to have one of those super-heroes roles where he travels the world to stop the war. Instead he spends most of the book in Afife contemplating what to do since he was told that only him could save Earth.

Also, I have to be honest and say that despite the fact that Mateus is the great hero in the end (despite it all), he didn’t do it all alone and that small detail kind of disappointed me slightly. Even though that sci-fi twist gave this book an element of intensity and explained a few things, I found it slightly far-stretched. The fact that Mateus needed the help of a certain character (seriously, I was surprised about this twist and I’m not spilling the beans) kind of erased his credibility as an engineer. Still, I really enjoyed that character quite a lot and I think that together they could be a nice duo in future stories.  

Overall Twilight Visitor was a captivating book that deals with a current fear that the whole world feels with a slice of sci-fi thrown into it. The writing style, the characters that were strong and human enough to make the story believable and the heart-pounding thriller countdown to know how is the world to stop an upcoming war was the best thing about this book. If you like books with politics, the constant survival of the human race then this book is for you.

Giveaway Time:

Réal Laplaine was kind enough to provide a giveaway to accompany this review. There are five (5) paperback copies and five (5) ebook copies of this book up for grabs here on A Cup of Coffee & a Book. All you have to do is fill the Rafflecopter and fingers crossed you win it.
INT – ends October 31st.

Rafflectoper Logo

Good luck everyone 😉

Ner

9 thoughts on “Review: Twilight Visitor [+ Giveaway]

  1. Sorry… os dois ultimos posts estão ao contrário em termos de ordem cronológica, ou seja, por datas…espero que seja importante para ti. Senão, desculpa!!! Bjs. Boas leituras… Inês.

    • Eu sei.. o 1o está em “sticky post” pois tem o giveaway, é logo o primeiro post que as pessoas veem quando entram no blog. Os que for colocando ficam por debaixo deste 😀

      Mas brigado pelo aviso na msm 🙂

      XX Ner

  2. I really like the sound of this book! It sounds like it has an intriguing plot and is very well written too 🙂

    • I really liked the writing style. It was very simple and hypnotic at the same time. As for the plot, it was rather rushed but it did intrigued me.

      If you’re entering the giveaway (which is INT so you can try your luck) I’ll be rooting for you 😉

      XX Ner

    • Congrats Olivia… you won a paperback of this book. Sent you an email with the news. Thanks for participating 🙂

      XX Ner

  3. This book had me at “Afife, Portugal”. I’ve been to Afife before as I live relatively close to it – about 50-ish km away I believe.
    I’m definitely picking up a copy of Twilight Visitor soon and maybe even heading to Afife afterwards.
    Thank you for bringing this book to my attention. I’ll be keeping an eye out for your next reviews! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Ner Reviews on TWILIGHT VISITOR by Réal Laplaine | Sci Fi Thrillers

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

