Friday Reads (#14 – 16/10/2015)

Friday Reads

Hello Mates!!!

This has been one amazing and one hell of a week.

It was amazing because Monday, October 12th, was my birthday and I used it as an excuse to ditch classes. I mean, who wishes to listen to a lecture concerning Medieval History when they turn 27 years old? 

And one hell of a week because I had been slightly ill with a cold and it kind of ruined my ears. Never in my 27 years have I suffered from my ears until now. I had a freaking clogged ear and I swear to you right now that I never, NEVER, want to feel that ever again! Not being able to hear properly, to pop an ear and to feel this stupid pressure inside it is beyond frustrating and infuriating. I had to take several pills in order to feel better. 

But, thankfully and thanks to the pharmacist, I feel so much better and I can hear everyone and everything around me. 

It’s such a freaking relief!!!

Anyway!! As you can imagine, I barely read anything this last week. I’m not sure if it has to do with what I just experienced or the book itself but I’m hoping that this weekend will tell me exactly that.

So, take a look at what I’m currently reading:

The 5th Wave [The 5th Wave #1]
Rick Yancey

The Passage meets The Hunger Games in a gripping new series from Carnegie-shortlisted Rick Yancey. After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

***

I have decided to read this book because of the movie. I haven’t seen anything about it yet – I haven’t seen the trailer or promo pics – because I don’t want to be spoiled towards it. Apart from Chloe Grace Moretz, I have no idea who’s in the cast for this adaptation.

As I mentioned above, I have no idea if the reason I’m reading this so slowly has to do with me and sickness or the book itself. I only read a total of 49 pages since Monday. Yep… that much!!! I mean, I am curious to know what the heck is going on and all but I’m finding Cassie’s voice slightly weird! I don’t know… I really need to read this properly and I’m hoping this weekend will allow me to judge this book without any sort of external (and internal) struggles such as clogged ears and stupid colds!

What about you? What are you reading this Friday? Which book(s) will accompany you this weekend?

You can leave me a comment or share what you’re reading via Instagram (you can follow me here) and/or Twitter (you can follow me here) by using the following hashtag #FridayReadsandCoffee 🙂

Ner

7 thoughts on “Friday Reads (#14 – 16/10/2015)

    • OMG!!! THRONE OF GLASS!!!! *dies*

      Ainda bem que estás a gostar! Fico super feliz por teres comprado o livro. Só te digo isto: vais sofrer!!!!! *malicious grin*

      Okay, no more spoilers, I promise!!! Diz-me algo: Chaol or Dorian?! I NEED TO KNOW!!!

      Beijões grandes ❤

      XX Ner

  1. Chaol…. cutest boy…♡♥ ok… estou quase a terminar de ler o livro… vai ser hoje… I hope so…*#÷ Thanks for everything, sis!!!! Boas leituras! Bj. Inês.

    • Team Chaol all the way!!! Mas dizem que aqueles que são Team Chaol vão ficar de coração despedaçado no terceiro livro (ainda não mandei vir… damn it!). Tou com medo :S

      XX Ner

  2. Amei o livro…. espero que traduzam os próximos … e tê-los na estante… voltei a ler A Canção dos Maoris, de Sarah Lark… fiquei na página 50… e saiu agora o terceiro volume!!!!!!! Quero….. bjs. Boas leituras!!! Inês.

    • Espero bem que traduzam… preciso de saber a tua reacção a ler o Crown of Midnight hehe xD

      Okay, vou tentar mudar o teu CR ASAP (vim aqui rapidamente para te responder :D)

      Kisses :*

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

