The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

TAG

I wasn’t tagged (no-one ever tags me *inserts ugly crying*) but I kind of stole this from Michelle @The Writing Hufflepuff. Now, seriously, I know I’m always stealing her tags but she always posts the most interesting ones so… sorry 🙂

Now, let’s just jump straight into the questions/answers, shall we?

1. How long have you been a blogger? 

Before having this baby, I had a personal blog that I started way back in the day (around 2008, me thinks! Sorry, can’t remember and I’m too lazy to go check it). I mainly posted random stuff I enjoyed: from books to music to movies to cinema crushes! Yap, random stuff! One day, on a whim, I decided to create a book blog because I was posting a lot of things concerning books on that blog and most of my followers were (and this is real) getting tired of it. So, I decided to create a blog solemnly dedicated to books and those who wished to follow me on that blog, were welcome to do it 🙂

And I pretty much just told you the story of my life, didn’t I?

2. At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

I’m not going to lie but I have considered stopping blogging last year when the stress of University and personal life collided with my blogging life. But, to be honest, I can’t live without my blog and even if I’m too busy with the life outside the blogsphere, I always end up going back to my blog and find my refuge here no matter what.

And I also learnt that people will understand if you don’t post for a while. Life gets in the way of everyone but my followers/readers/friends have always been there for me when I returned so I owe then that.

3. What is the best thing about blogging?

Meeting fellow bookworms, new authors, new books, sharing experiences, fangirling with everyone, winning giveaways (come one, we all love when that happens, right?)… All the positive things that accompany books and stuff 😉

4. What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

Blogging-slump (does that word even exists? If not, did I just create a new term?!). When you seem like you can’t write a post, or even have the patience to sit in front of the laptop and publish a post. I have quite a few moments like those and I hate them. And when that happens, I normally take a deep breath, go drink a coffee or take a shower, read a few chapters from a book, check out other blogs and try again. Normally works for me.

When a review I wrote gets haters – let’s be honest, as reviewers, we have those reviews people don’t agree with, right? And when they begin to disrespect your opinion and shamming it, don’t you feel miserable in both angry and sad ways? What do I do to make it feel better? I don’t engage on confrontation (though sometimes I really have the urge to) and move on.

When a request I made gets rejected. Seriously, sometimes you get so excited about a book and when the publisher rejects your request (whether you’ve requested it via NetGalley/Edelweiss or to the publisher), you feel like your insides are being burned (wow… that was perhaps a little bit too over-dramatic). What I do to make it okay? I don’t give up and try again with different books 😉

Writing negative reviews. I hate those moments sometimes… we all have that, right? 

5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

It actually depends. When I know exactly which pic/gif I want to use, it normally takes around, let’s say 5 minutes to find it and post it. But when I’m in doubt, I spend a good hour searching for possible pictures/gifs to match what I want to share.

6. Who is your book crush?

I refuse to answer this question. Why? Because I honestly can’t choose one. Choosing one would be betraying all the others and I do love my baes!

7. Which author would you like to have on your blog?

All of them… I want to know all their secrets!

Now, let’s be serious. Perhaps J.K. Rowling and Neil Gaiman. These two are bloody geniuses and I do intend on getting inside their brains and find their compartment that makes them so good and then possess it and be the best… did I just say that out loud?

8. What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

Whatever I’m wearing at the time of said moment. Right now I’m wearing jeans, my converses, a sweater and a scarf (it’s rather cold) but once I wrote a full review after taking a shower so I was wearing only my bathrobe. Let’s say that it was a hot day or else I would have freeze to death!

9. How long does it take you to prepare?

Prepare what? A review? It might take a while depending on how I feel about that particular book I’m reviewing. I first write on word (not always) then copy-paste to the blog and since there’s a pretty handy helper here on wordpress (yes, I’m talking about the copying posts you’ve previously posted… I use that all the time!), all I have to do is a few minor changes.

Another sort of post? It all depends on whatever it is I’m planning, my mood (yes, my mood influences a lot of my blogging and I bet some of you can notice it), my laptop (this thing can get so slow it takes me ages to do something I can do in 10 minutes!), the noise around me (yes, it also influences ’cause blogging with someone hammering on the floor above you is horrible!)

10. How do you feel about the book blogger community?

It’s the best community EVER!! I love everyone even though I don’t share that love that much. We are all different and have opposite tastes but our passion for books is what brings us together and we are “All for one and one for all!”

11. In what do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

Having fun in what you’re doing is the best way to make your blog big. But of course that you also need to be yourself and interact with other people. Don’t make blogging an obligation!

And because you should have fun while blogging, here’s Tom Hiddleston dancing… you’re welcome 🙂

Who do I tag?! 
I will especially tag Carla and Marina @O Fantástico Blog dos Livros because their blog is still a baby and even though they’re blog is in Portuguese, I’m super excited for them. But I pretty much tag everyone who wishes to do this tag! Just let me know you did it by commenting below and I’ll check out your post 😉

Ner

5 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. I feel the EXACT same way when I get declined on NetGalley or I find out I wasn’t chosen for a blog tour. It is seriously a blow to my blogging ego and I have that moment where I think “I am just not good enough”. Sometimes I forget that I started this so I could talk about books and that it shouldn’t matter if not a single person reads it or appreciate it. However, I don’t think I will ever stop feeling bad when I get declined!

    • Couldn’t have said it better! And yes, we’ll always feel sad but I think it gets slightly better with time… right now I simply shrug it off and move on. I can always buy the book when it comes out 😉

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

