The NaNoWriMo Tag

TAG
Another tag that I wasn’t tagged by anyone but I’ve seen some people do it on BookTube and thought it would be nice to share it alongside some updates concerning NaNoWriMo.

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month and it occurs every single November where you try to write 50,000 words for your novel. For more information, you can go to the official website here.

Okay, let’s do this:

1. How many times have you done NaNo?

Officially, this is my third year participating. Unofficially, four times. The first time everything was relativity new to me so I simply wrote a few chapters without real dedication.

2. How did you first find out about NaNo?

Honestly, I don’t remember. I think it was through YouTube but I can’t really tell you. I’ve heard about it, did a few research and found out what it was about.

3. What was the name of the first novel you attempted with NaNo?

The official first one, Kindred Blood. The unofficial first try was my on-going story Deephaven.

4. Give us a sentence summary of what you’re writing this year?

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Throne of Glass meets Snow White and the Huntsman!

5. What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Don’t give up even when you think what you’re writing sucks. What matters is telling your story and what you love and not writing for the masses! Write from the heart and let the words flow 😉

6. Did you ever take a year off from NaNo? Why?

Since I first started back in 2012, I have participated every single year whether I managed to write or not. I might take a year off to sort out some ideas so the next year I can really kick some butt with NaNo. But I do like the challenge so it’s something to consider.

We never know what might happen in the upcoming years, right? So I might need to take a year off but, for now, I’m definitely not thinking about it.

7. What’s your biggest inspiration when figuring out what to write?

Books, music and movies/series. 

8. Read the first sentence from one of your novels.

I might as well share with you the first sentence from the novel I’m currently working on (it doesn’t have a title yet… still thinking about it!)

“Arkney is calm as always. The only sound is the wind rustling the leaves on the trees. Not much is occurring in this autumnal dawn apart from my constant inner struggle in dealing with the past.”

There, three sentences because the first was way too short 🙂

9. Why do you love writing?

I love creating characters and situations and worlds. And it’s a refuge from reality. But mainly because these stories want to come out from my brain!

NaNo Update!

This year I managed to write more than what I had expected. So far I wrote 21, 204 words which is more than I did the previous years. I won’t be able to conclude the novel this month though but I’m hoping to continue writing it in the upcoming months.

I admit that I had a writer’s block for a few days. I wrote a chapter and then I got stuck! I couldn’t decide what to do next since everything I had planned went down the drain because I totally changed my story’s course. So I put it aside for a while to see if I could decide where to go from there. After posting this I’ll try to write at least 2,000/3,000 words. I hope to reach 25K till the end of the month so I really need to find out what to do now.

How about you? How’s your NaNoWriMo going this year if you’re entering?!

Ner

 

One thought on “The NaNoWriMo Tag

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

