Showcase Sunday (#75)

FIRST SHOWCASE SUNDAY OF 2016!!

YES!! My first Showcase Sunday of 2016. Despite not being active on the blog, I have been requesting and buying some books. Well, the books I bought are mainly for University but still… they’re books! So, this post will be to show you all the books I got from NetGalley/Edelweiss and the ones I bought for Uni.

Let’s start with the physical ones (aka College books!):

-Physical-

20160317_155418

I’ve posted this photo on my Instagram and BooksAmino (@Ner the Witch). It features all the books I have to read this Semester for British Contemporary Literature and I’m quite excited for some of them. Truth is, apart from two (Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrard and Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf) that I already owned, the rest were recently bought. And they are:

  • Brideshead Revisited – Evenly Waugh(really excited about this one because this edition is gorgeous! It was the cheaper and the most good looking one so I got a great deal! I’m really curious about this one and I cannot wait to jump into it!);
  • 1984 – George Orwell (another book that I’m super curious to read. I’ve read and heard amazing things about this book and author and I’m hoping to learn a lot from this book);
  • The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro (this was a choice between three other books – that I don’t remember the titles and authors right now. I decided to go with Ishiguro because I’ve never read his books and people seem to love his work. Let’s hope I’m one of those people :D);

JANE

-NetGalley/Edelweiss-

Imagem1

  • The Inquisition [Summoner #2] – Taran Matharu (OMFG!!! I was actually contacted by the author to read and review the sequel to one of my favourite books of last year. So you can imagine just how freaking excited I am about this!!! You can read my review for The Novice here on the blog. I seriously cannot wait to start reading this book and re-enter this amazing universe Taran Matharu created. THANK YOU FOR REMEMBERING ME ❤);
  • Labyrinth Lost [Brooklyn Brujas #1] – Zoraida Cordova (I’m on a huge want-to-read-more voodoo and sort of magic right now so when I saw this book I  had to request it! Really curious about it and look at that cover!);
  • Relentless [The Hero Agenda #2] – Tera Lynn Childs & Tracy Deebs (this is the sequel to Powerless, another book I read last year and really enjoyed. I was super happy when my request to read the second book was approved. Cannot wait to know what’s going to happen to Kenna and the rest of the super-heroes and villains! Just one small thing: I don’t like how this cover turned out to be like! It has nothing to do with the first one and I’m sad about it :S);
  • Carry On – Rainbow Rowell (this one was on Read Now and I couldn’t resist. I’ve never read anything by this author but I’ve heard simply amazing things. However, I don’t know if picking up this one is the wise choice to enter into Rainbow Rowell‘s writing. What do you guys think?);

Imagem2

Imagem3

  • Soulless [The Immortal Gene #1] – Jacinta Maree (I’m pretty sure these next books were requested last year but due to my hiatus I didn’t share them with you. I requested this one firstly based on the freaking awesome cover! And then, when I read the synopsis, it sounded pretty interesting. I actually started this one in January but due to my reading-slump I put it down. But I will be picking it up this year, maybe around May :D);
  • A Reaper of Stone[A Reaper of Stone #1] – Mark Gelineau & Joe King (I’ve seen this book on Goodreads and the cover and synopsis always made me super curious about it! When I saw it on NetGalley – I think it was on Read Now but I can’t remember – I couldn’t resist!);
  • Acne, Asthma, And Other Signs You Might Be Half Dragon – Rena Rocford (seriously, can you blame me for requesting this book with that cover? And I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while now… I’m super pumped about it!);

Ner

4 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday (#75)

    • It’s one of the most beautiful books I own now. I’m so in love with it ❤

      I hope they're good. When I read it I'll let you know how they were ^_^

      XX Ner

  1. I loved Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, I hope The Remains of The Day is just as good! I’ve heard good things about it… And I am the biggest Rainbow Rowell fan!!! Carry On is based on her other book, Fangirl, it’s the main character’s fanfiction come to life. While you don’t need to read Fangirl first, I found it kind of exciting to read the fanfiction that was mentioned in the book 😀 I hope you enjoy all of these books!

    – anyways2015.wordpress.com

    • I hope to really like Kazuo Ushiguro. I also heard amazing things about the books so I’m hoping to be amazed by them 🙂

      Uh, that made me curious about Carry On. I knew it was some sort of fanfiction but wasn’t entirely sure. Will definitely read it so I can get acquaintance with her writing. Thanks for the tip 😉

      XX Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

