Bout of Books 17 {Day 2/3/4}

Bout of Books

Participant 228~ Ner @A Cup of Coffee & a Book

Hello everyone and I’m so so sorry for my lack of updates in these last two days but I was running some errands and pretty much didn’t have time to come to the computer. But today I’m here and I’m going to update you on my (slow) progress and post all the challenges I’ve missed so, please, bear with me 😉

Day 2: Tuesday – 23/08

Progress:

Reading: Labyrinth Lost – 100% done – page 327  (PDF), 315 (book) | The Bone Witch – 6% done – page 28 (PDF);
Pages Read: 62 pages;
Books Read: 1/4;
Total Pages Read: 176 pages;

Tuesday was a pretty slow day since I had a lot of things to do and barely had time to sit down and read. And when I got home I was so tired I read around 16 pages and fell asleep!! My feeling of accomplishment went downhill from here :S

Challenge:

The Nickster hosted at Bout of Books – Mix ‘n Match

Instructions: Pick out 10-15 books from your shelf, from your local library, or from a local bookstore. They can be any genre, any language, and any length. In each book, flip to a random page and pick the 1st word (articles such as “the”, “and”, “an”, “or”, etc. don’t count as the 1st word). Use all these 1st words to try to create an actual sentence. If the books are in different languages, feel free to translate them to all one language or leave them as they are! also, you can add in some articles, such as “the”, “and”, “an”, “or”, etc., if you want to make the sentence flow better. 

I had a hard time with this challenge since all the words I got barely managed to create a proper sentence. So I took a little bit of liberty and instead of one sentence, I ended up with three that don’t make any sense.

So, here are the books and the words I got:

20160825_165054

  • him;
  • staring;
  • freeze;
  • into;
  • oldest;
  • sound;
  • even;
  • long;
  • resemble;
  • learning;

And here is the sentences I came up with:

“The oldest sister was staring into his eyes and they resemble(d) the past long forgotten. She felt herself freeze as the sound of his heartbeat was close to her. She was learning how to control her even breathing but failing at that since she was in love with him.”

See, how pathetic does this sounds? And it doesn’t make any sense at all! But it was the best I could come up with since I’m not that inspired today 😦

Day 3: Wednesday – 24/08

Progress:

Reading: The Bone Witch – 20% done – page 87 (PDF);
Pages Read: 59 pages;
Books Read: 1/4;
Total Pages Read: 235 pages;

If Tuesday was a slow day for me, what can I say about Wednesday! I think you can gather just how bad it was but I have to be honest, I simply couldn’t read because I was so tired my eyes actually hurt and I didn’t want to force them.

Challenge:

Show Off Your Shelves Photo Challenge – Bout of Books

Wednesday’s challenge was to show-off my bookshelves so it was an easy one to do! So, here are my bookshelves:

20160825_165405

20160825_165427

I’m missing a few books in these last shelves that are on my mum’s room!! Also, I’m sorry how blurry the pictures are. They looked fine when I took them and only when I uploaded them did I realised they looked horrible :S

Day 4: Thursday- 25/08

Progress:

Reading: The Bone Witch – 20% done – page 87 (PDF);
Pages Read: 0 pages;
Books Read: 1/4;
Total Pages Read: 235 pages;

Can you believe I haven’t read anything today?! I’m hoping I’ll be able to catch after posting this but so far zero, niente, rien! 

Challenge:

Titles in the Tabloids – The Book Junkie

Instructions: 

  • Think about the book you are reading or one that you finished during Bout of Books 17;
  • Create a “tabloid” type headline.  Make it fun, feel free to use sarcasm liberally;

Okay, I’m going to use Labyrinth Lost for this tabloid. Here we go:

“Hormonal teenager sends her family to limbo and blames her dead pet.”

Wow, doesn’t sound at all like the story but this was as close as I could get to a fun title without giving too much away from the story!

Ner

We love comments. If you wish, you can comment here and we'll try to reply to you as soon as possible. Thank you for stopping by :)

